KJAN Sports

Listen Monday – Saturday for KJAN Sports at 7:18 am, 8:15 am, 12:20 pm, 1:20 pm, 2:20 pm and 5:20 pm!

Catch St. Louis Cardinal Baseball on KJAN — Check out the schedule!

Listen to the Kansas City Chiefs on KJAN — See the schedule!

Iowa Hawkeye Football & Basketball is on KJAN — View More Information!


KJAN Sports Schedule/Audio Archive

Want to watch some of your favorite games again?  Check out our video archives HERE!

Iowa high school football player wanted on weapon, drug charges arrested in Texas


November 1st, 2013 by Ric Hanson

A Dunkerton high school football player accused of taking a gun and marijuana with him to a road game in has been arrested in Texas. The investigation of 18-year-old Maryo Lindsey, Jr. started on August 30th when the Dunkerton Raiders played a road game at Riceville. Lindsey was injured in the game and transported to a local hospital for treatment. That’s when someone apparently discovered a handgun and suspected marijuana in his duffel bag and reported it to school officials.

The next morning, Dunkerton Schools Superintendent Jim Stanton called the sheriff’s office and asked authorities to investigate the matter. During their investigation, authorities received information that Lindsey had left Iowa for Texas. Today (Friday) sheriff’s officials received confirmation that Lindsey has been arrested in Texas on multiple Black Hawk County weapons charges – including possession of a Firearm on School Grounds – as well as possession of marijuana.

Lindsey is being held on $200,000 bond in the Dallas County jail in Dallas, Texas. He’s scheduled to appear before a judge in Dallas for an extradition hearing.

(Radio Iowa)

8AM Sportscast 11-01-2013

Podcasts, Sports

November 1st, 2013 by Chris Parks

w/ Jim Field

Friday Volleyball Regional Semi-Final Schedule


November 1st, 2013 by Jim Field


  • @ Guthrie Center:   Guthrie Center vs. Martensdale-St. Marys
  • @ Murray:Murray vs. East Union
  • @ Stanton:  Griswold vs. Stanton
  • @ Tabor:  Fremont-Mills vs. Boyer Valley


  • @ Council Bluffs:  St. Albert vs. Treynor
  • @ Greenfield:  Des Moines Christian vs. Southwest Valley
  • @ Mapleton:  Maple Valley-Anthon-Oto vs. Underwood

Regional Volleyball Semifinal scores from Thu., Oct. 31st 2013


November 1st, 2013 by Ric Hanson


  • (3-0) Kuemper Catholic 25-25-25, Greene County 16-21-15
  • (3-0) North Polk 25-25-25, East Sac 21-21-19
  • (3-1) Red Oak 19-25-25-25, Clarinda 25-18-18-18


  • (3-0) Harlan 25-25-25, Dallas Center-Grimes 13-9-12
  • (3-0) Lewis Central 25-25-25, Creston 15-22-21
  • (3-0) Bishop Heelan Catholic 25-25-25, Carroll 14-19-18


  • (3-0) Abraham Lincoln 25-25-25, Thomas Jefferson 13-7-15

St. Louis Cardinals: Season wrap-up


November 1st, 2013 by Ric Hanson

ST. LOUIS (AP) — Clutch hitting deserted the St. Louis Cardinals throughout the postseason. The power arms that got them to the World Series finally gave out, too. For the third straight year there’s satisfaction in the achievement of making a deep October run. They were close to a second title in three years, largely thanks to rookie Michael Wacha, and there’s no reason they can’t keep contending. The way it ended, it felt as if they’d missed by a mile. Going forward, it appears the NL champions have plenty of payroll flexibility. They haven’t said whether they’ll seek a contract extension with free-agent Carlos Beltran, who would like to stay.


NEW YORK (AP) — The World Series television rating on Fox was up 17 percent over last year but was the lowest for a matchup that went at least six games. Boston’s 4-2 Series win over St. Louis averaged an 8.9 rating, 15 share and 14.9 million viewers, Nielsen Media Research said Thursday.

San Francisco’s four-game sweep of Detroit last year averaged a record-low 7.6/12 and was seen by 12.7 million viewers. That was among only three Series that had lower ratings than this year’s, joined by 8.4 ratings for Philadelphia’s five-game win over Tampa Bay in 2008 and San Francisco’s five-game victory over Texas in 2010. Boston’s 6-1 victory in Wednesday night’s clincher received an 11.3/18 and was seen by 19.2 million viewers, baseball’s highest rating since Game 7 of the 2011 World Series.


ST. LOUIS (AP) — The St. Louis Cardinals declined their $9.5 million option for next season on pitcher Jake Westbrook, who was not on their postseason roster after battling elbow and back injuries much of the year. The 36-year-old Westbrook, who was 7-8 with a 4.63 ERA, gets a $1 million buyout.

The sinkerballer appeared in 21 games, all but two of them starts. He was barely used late in the year and got the start in the season finale as a nod to his contributions, working one scoreless inning. Westbrook is 105-103 for his career. He was 36-32 with a 4.27 ERA in three-plus seasons with St. Louis.

ISU’s Melvin Ejim To Miss 4-6 Weeks With Injury


October 31st, 2013 by Jim Field

AMES, Iowa – Iowa State senior forward Melvin Ejim suffered a hyperextended left knee and bone bruise in practice Wednesday and is expected to miss 4-6 weeks. Ejim, a preseason All-Big 12 pick from Toronto, Ontario, averaged 10.3 points and led the Big 12 in rebounding (9.3) and double-doubles (15) as a junior.

Iowa State begins its season Sunday with an exhibition game against Augustana (S.D.). Tipoff against the Vikings is scheduled for 5 p.m. (CT).

HSFB: Riverside at Audubon 10-30-2013 Class A First Round Playoffs

Podcasts, Sports

October 31st, 2013 by Chris Parks

Jim Field and Chris Parks have the call of the game played at Chis Jones Field in Audubon.

8AM Sportscast 10-31-2013

Podcasts, Sports

October 31st, 2013 by Chris Parks

w/ Jim Field

IA High School Football Playoffs – 1st Round Scores from Wed. 10/30/13


October 31st, 2013 by Ric Hanson

Class 4-A

  • Ankeny Centennial 49, Abraham Lincoln 28

Class 3-A

  • Bishop Heelan Catholic 45, Creston 7
  • Carroll 27, ADM 7
  • Harlan 20, LeMars 14
  • Spencer 35, Lewis Central 25

Class 2-A

  • Gilbert 44, Red Oak 12
  • Kuemper Catholic 49, Nevada 7
  • West Marshall 36, Clarinda 19

Class 1-A

  • Mount Ayr 30, Panorama 7
  • Ogden 32, Nodaway Valley 16
  • St. Albert 35, Pella Christian 7
  • Van Meter 41, Treynor 0

Class A

  • A-H-S-T 56, Guthrie Center 13
  • Audubon 39, Riverside 0
  • East Mills 20, Woodward-Granger 0


  • Adair-Casey 59, Meskwaki Settlement School 20
  • Boyer Valley 44, Southwest Valley 25
  • Coon Rapids-Bayard 32, Fremont Mills 24 (OT)
  • Exira/Elk Horn-Kimballton 65, CAM 0

Chiefs Out to Win, Not Win Beauty Pageants


October 31st, 2013 by Ric Hanson

KANSAS CITY, Mo. (AP) — The Kansas City Chiefs aren’t into winning beauty pageants. They don’t care about putting up big numbers on offense or polishing off shiny, lopsided victories. Ugly works just as well. It’s a good thing, because the Chiefs haven’t had a breezy win for weeks. Instead, they’ve relied on a blue-collar, throwback-style defense that’s more comfortable sticking a hand in the mud than getting a high-priced manicure to stack up eight wins in eight games.

Then again, after blowing out Jacksonville in their season opener, the Chiefs have played so many nail-biting games that maybe stopping for a manicure isn’t such a bad idea. They head to Buffalo trying to improve to 9-0 on Sunday. You can hear the game on KJAN.