Atlantic School District & Rotary award 2 teachers with Teacher of the Year


May 15th, 2019 by Ric Hanson

For the past six-years, the Atlantic Rotary has presented their Outstanding Teacher of the Year Award to one person each year. This year was different. Last year’s winner Gini Jordan announced today (Wednesday) that the winners this year were Justin Williams, CCEOC 9-12 Teacher, and CCEOC/Special Education Teacher Karen Vogl.

Atlantic Rotary 2019 Teachers of the Year/Atlantic Community School District (Justin Williams & Karen Vogl)

Vogl said she was “Extremely happy, appreciative and pleased” to receive the award. She credited her success to her team, which includes Justin Williams. Williams also recognized the team, and said he was humble to receive the award.

Rotary Teacher of the Year Chair Becky Schroeder said there were an outstanding pool of nominees this year. The winners she said will receive a check for $5,000 to be used however the teacher sees fit. Both also received a plaque.

Other awards were presented for years of service and to those who are retiring. The retirees honored include:

  • Christi Garrett and Deb Nelson, from Washington Elementary.
  • Melia Clark, from Schuler Elementary.
  • Sheryl Dusenberry, Atlantic Middle School.
  • Craig Fredin, Maryle Hopper-Henningsen, Pat Wiederin and Michele Lane, from the Atlantic High School.
  • Maintenance retiree, Arnie Lamp.
  • Transportation retirees Dave Eckles, Sam Hoover and Jan Imhoff.

Other staff received certificates for serving anywhere from 5-to 35-years with the district.