Atlantic man appointed to IA Judicial Nominating Commission


February 1st, 2012 by Ric Hanson

An Atlantic man was one of 30 people appointed today by Governor Terry Branstad, to the Judicial Nominating Commission. Robert Camblin and H. David Boettger, of Harlan, were appointed to the Judicial Nominating Commission for District 4. And, Bill Horan, of Rockwell City, along with Ann Trimble-Ray, of Early, were appointed to the J-N-C, in District 2-B.  The appointments take effect today (February 1, 2012), and are not subject to Senate confirmation. The State Judicial Nominating Commission interviews applicants and selects nominees for appointment to the Iowa Supreme Court as well as the Iowa Court of Appeals.

The commission is comprised of:   A chair, who is the senior justice of the supreme court, other than the chief justice; Seven Lawyer commissioners elected by lawyers; and Seven non-lawyer commissioners appointed by the governor and confirmed by the Iowa Senate.  All commissioners, but the chair, serve for a term of six years.  Within sixty days of receiving the notice from the secretary of state, the commission must submit the names of nominees to the governor. The commission selects three nominees for appointment to the Supreme Court, and three nominees for appointment to the Court of Appeals.