Heartbeat Today 12-30-2014

Heartbeat Today, Podcasts

December 30th, 2014 by Chris Parks

Jim Field speaks with Rollie Parrott about the Trojan Sports Locker project.

Downtown Atlantic business sustains damage from vandalism


December 30th, 2014 by Ric Hanson

(Updated 10-a.m.)

A business in downtown Atlantic was damaged by vandalism overnight. According to Police Chief Steve Green, at around 9:50-p.m., someone heard glass breaking in the 400 block of Chestnut Street, somewhere south of the NAPA store. The person who notified police said they saw a short male suspect wearing a black coat, pants and stocking cap, run north in the 400 block of Chestnut and turn east on 4th Street.

When officers went to investigate, they found the front, 8-foot by 8-foot plate glass window at Aunt B’s (408 Chestnut), had been broken. The front glass door of the business was also smashed. Inside the store, where the window was broken, was a piece of black asphalt, measuring 5-by 7-inches in diameter. A picture inside a glass frame was also broken inside the store after it was hit by the piece of asphalt. Officers were unable to locate a suspect. Damage from the incident amounted to about $1,500.

Anyone with information about the incident is asked to call the Atlantic Police Dept. at 243-3512.

(Podcast) KJAN Sports report, 12/30/2014

Podcasts, Sports

December 30th, 2014 by Ric Hanson

The 7:20-a.m. Sportscast with Jim Field.

3 Madison County men arrested on drug charges in Creston


December 30th, 2014 by Ric Hanson

Three men from Madison County were arrested this (Tuesday) morning on drug charges, at the Union County Law Enforcement Centerl. The Creston Police Dept. says 19-year old’s Kenneth William Killen and Zachary Trenton Holder, and 18-year old Jordan Dean Smith, all of Winterset, were arrested at around 4:50-a.m., for Possession of a Controlled Substance. All three men were being held in the Union County Jail on $1,000 bond, each.

(Podcast) 7:07-a.m. KJAN News & funeral report, 12/30/2014

News, Podcasts

December 30th, 2014 by Ric Hanson

With KJAN News Director Ric Hanson.

The Freese-Notis Weather Forecast for Atlantic & weather info., 12/30/14


December 30th, 2014 by Ric Hanson

**Wind Chill Advisory until Noon for Crawford, Sac & Monona Counties**
(Wind chills in the advisory area will be -20 to -28 degrees this morning)

Today – Partly Cloudy. High 9. N-NW @ 10-15. Wind chill values as low as -20.
Tonight – Mostly Clear. Low -5. NW @ 5-10. Wind chill values as low as -20

Wednesday – Mostly Sunny. High near 19. W/SW @ 10-20. Wind chill values as low as -20.
Wed. Night – Mostly Clear. Low around 10. W/SW @ 10-25.

New Year’s Day – Sunny. High near 30. W/SW @ 10.
Thu. Night – Mostly Clear. Low around 16.
Friday – Mostly sunny. High near 34.

Monday’s High in Atlantic was 23. Our 24-Hour Low (through 7-a.m. today) was -1.  We received .1 of an inch of snow Monday, which amounted to a Trace of liquid precipitation.

Last Year on this date (12/30), Atlantic’s High was 27, our Low was 5. The All-Time record High in Atlantic on 12/30 was 64 in 2004. The record Low was -22 in 1917. Sunrise today is at 7:46. Sunset will be at 4:59.

Online voter registration rule hearing set for today


December 30th, 2014 by Ric Hanson

DES MOINES, Iowa (AP) — The state commission that oversees voting is holding a public hearing on a new rule that would start online voter registration in Iowa. The Iowa Voter Registration Commission is seeking a new rule to allow anyone with a driver’s license or photo ID issued by the Iowa Department of Transportation to log onto a website and register to vote. It’s a process used in 17 other states. Commissioner Charlie Smithson says it will benefit 94 percent of the population of Iowa with minimal cost.

Voter rights groups including the American Civil Liberties Union of Iowa believe excluding those without a license or photo ID isn’t fair and will push for changes at the hearing set for 10 a.m. today (Tuesday), in Des Moines.

Special, State Senate election today for some SW IA Counties


December 30th, 2014 by Ric Hanson

Residents of some southwest Iowa counties will brave the bitterly cold wind and head to the polls today to participate in a special election to decide who will fill the Iowa Senate seat vacated by U-S Senator elect Joni Ernst. The polls opened today at 7-a.m. and will close at 9-p.m.  On the ballot for the District 12 seat is: Democrat Steve Adams; Libertarian Donald Brantz, and current Republican State Rep. Mark Costello. Fremont, Mills, Montgomery, Page, Ringgold and Taylor counties are included in the district.

Ernst formally resigned her seat Nov. 28 after being elected to the United States Senate. The polls will be open until 9 p.m. Costello, of Imogene, won the Republican nomination earlier this month over six other candidates at a convention in Clarinda. Adams, of Red Oak, was nominated Dec. 13 as the Democratic Party candidate. He was being chosen over Glenwood City Councilman Craig Florian.

Brantz, a longtime Mills County supervisor and southwest Iowa social worker, lives west of Mineola.

Hawkeyes set for Big Ten opener


December 30th, 2014 by Ric Hanson

The Iowa Hawkeyes open the Big Ten race today (Tuesday), with a visit to nationally ranked Ohio State. The Hawkeyes take a 9-4 record into the start of the league race. Cold shooting plagued the Hawkeyes during non-conference play. They are shooting only 41 percent from the floor and just 31 percent from three point range. Both rank near the bottom of the Big Ten.

Iowa picked up a rare win in Columbus a year ago with an 84-74 victory. Ohio State is 11-2 with the losses coming to Louisville and North Carolina. Freshman D’ Angelo Russell leads the Buckeyes at nearly 18 points per game and teams with senior Shannon Scott to form a solid backcourt.

You can hear the pregame show beginning at 11-a.m. on KJAN, with the tip-off at Noon, in Columbus.

Iowa will play both QBs in Taxslayer Bowl


December 30th, 2014 by Ric Hanson

Iowa will use two quarterbacks in Friday’s Taxslayer Bowl against Tennessee. Offensive coordinator Greg Davis says Jake Rudock and C.J. Beatherd will see action in the opening quarter. Rudock started all but one game in Iowa’s 7-5 regular season. Davis says he will leave it to head coach Kirk Ferentz to divulge who the starter will be.

Tennessee coach Butch Jones says the Volunteer game plan won’t change if the Hawkeyes rotate quarterbacks. Tennessee lists 16 freshmen in its two deep and Jones says the Hawkeyes will have the edge in terms of experience.