Cass County June Primary candidates – Final list


March 26th, 2020 by Ric Hanson

The Cass County Auditor’s office has released the final list of candidates who have filed nomination papers for County Office in advance of the June 2nd Primary Election. There will be contested races for Cass County Board of Supervisors on the Republican ticket, in District’s 4 & 5. The winners move on to the General Election in November.

Board of Supervisors/District 1: Steve S. Green (of Atlantic), Republican – Incumbent.

Board of Supervisors/District 4:  Steve Baier, (of Griswold) Republican – Incumbent; Travis Erickson (from Cumberland) – Republican.

Board of Supervisors/District 5: Russell Joyce (of Atlantic) – Democrat; Republicans Bernard Pettinger (of Anita), and Linda Reineke (of Massena).

County Attorney (to fill a vacancy): Vanessa Strazdas (of Atlantic) Republican

County Auditor: Dale Sunderman (Atlantic) – Republican, Incumbent.

County Sheriff: Darby J. McLaren (Atlantic) – Republican, Incumbent

Candidates who have filed nomination papers for the November General Election in Cass County, include:

Soil & Water Conservation District: Curt Behrends (Wiota) – Republican; Chase Wheatley (Massena) – No Party, and Ray Wilson (No Party).

Hospital Board (Vote for 3): Leanne Pellett (Atlantic) – Republican; Linda L. Pelzer (Griswold) – Republican; & Ned Brown (Atlantic) – Republican.

Edna Township Trustee: Dan Schrier (Cumberland) – Republican; Keith Nelson (Massena) – Republican.

Union Township Trustee: Delmar South (Cumberland) – Republican.