Penn State clinches 3rd straight NCAA title


March 24th, 2013 by Ric Hanson

DES MOINES, Iowa (AP) — Cornell senior Kyle Dake became the first wrestler in NCAA history to win four national titles at four weights Saturday night, and Penn State won the national team title for the third year in a row. The 165-pound Dake beat defending champion David Taylor of Penn State 5-4 in Des Moines, joining Cael Sanderson and Pat Smith as four-time NCAA champions.

Penn State’s Ed Ruth and Quentin Wright won NCAA titles in back-to-back matches to seal the fourth national crown for the Nittany Lions and their third under Sanderson.