Bergman wins Athena Award


January 19th, 2013 by Ric Hanson

The Atlantic Area Chamber of Commerce held its annual dinner and awards program Saturday night, at the Cass County Community Center. There were many awards presented, but one award with national recognition, was presented for the 12th year in a row. Atlantic is the only community in Iowa that sponsors the ATHENA award thanks to a more than decade long partnership with Deter Motor Company, in Atlantic. The 2012 ATHENA Award went to Dolly Bergman. The award was presented by last year’s winner, Wendy Richter, with the Family Crisis Support Network, in Atlantic.

Past recipients have included include LaVon Eblen, Judy Marnin, Leanne Pellett, Denise O’Brien, Margaret Slepsky, Glenda Farrier, Carole Schuler, Jan Kinnison, Janell Hansen, Ann Pross and Wendy Richter.

Numerous other awards were handed-out to deserving groups and individuals as well, during the Chamber’s Annual Banquet and awards program. The Distinguished Service Award was presented by Eleanor Hoover, to long-time Atlantic area residents and historians, Philip and Trina Chinitz.

The Chamber’s Community Betterment Award went to the Nishna Valley Family YMCA….The Community Service Award went to Eagle Scout Casey Ihnen….The Outstanding Committee Member Award was presented to Jim Sampson…The Outstanding Chamber Volunteer Award went to Deb and Brian Church and their family, the Ambassador of the Year Award was presented to Sue Muri, with Star Ambassadors Sue Muri, Tammy Waters, Karl Aldag, Dolly Bergman and Dr. Keith Leonard also receiving Special Recognition.

The gavel of leadership was presented to Chamber President Elect Chip Hansen, who’s with 1st Whitney Bank and Trust. Amy Jordahl, with the Atlantic Hy-Vee, was named Vice President for 2013. Departing Chamber President Debbie Leistad received an award of recognition during the ceremonies, Saturday.