General Election preview – Part 2


November 6th, 2012 by Ric Hanson

Voters in Montgomery County will decide who will represent them in the U-S Senate and in Federal Office, but there aren’t any local contests of note, except to say six people are running for five spots on the County Agricultural Extension Council. Hoping to fill the four-year terms, are Karen Klocke, Michael J. Olson, Sabrina Johnson, Carroll Freeman, Timothy L. Kammerer, and William Drey.

In Pottawattamie County, three people are running for two seats on the Board of Supervisors: Republicans Lynn Grobe and Melvyn Houser, and Brian Lund, who was nominated by petition (NBP). Republican Lea Voss and Democrat Paula Danker are running to fill a vacancy position for County Treasurer. Sheriff Jeff Danker, who won the June Primary, is unopposed this time around, as is Auditor Marilyn Jo Drake.  Lowell Forristall, Bob Zimmerman, and J. Bernie Bolton, are in running for the non-partisan East Pott Soil and Water Conservation District, while Steven Kock, Chris Conover, Christine Matthies and Sandy Butcher are hoping to fill seats on the East Pott. Ag Extension Council. And, in Walnut, Trace Frahm is unopposed in seeking a vacancy seat on the Walnut City Council.

In Shelby County, Democrats Jerry Henscheid and LaVon Christensen, along with Republicans Charles Parkhurst and Steve Kenkel, are vying for two seats on the County Board of Supervisors. In addition to choosing those running for Federal Office, the voters in Shelby County will determine who will serve them as State Representative in District 18, Democrat Kasey Friedrichsen, or Republican Jason Schultz, and District 4 Representative, Democrat Christie Vilsack or Republican Steve King. Martin James Monroe was Nominated By Petition. His name will also appear on the ballot in Shelby County.