2012 General Election Today


November 6th, 2012 by Ric Hanson

This is Election Day across Iowa and the rest of the Country. In southwest Iowa, there are some contested local races, but a majority of the focus will of course, be on the Presidential and Congressional elections. The polls are open from 7-a.m. until 9-p.m. The results will be broadcast live on KJAN and posted on the web on KJAN when the final, unofficial tallies are released. All votes will remain unofficial until canvassed in each county.

In Cass County, three Republicans running for re-election to the Board of Supervisors (Duane McFadden, Chuck Rieken and Frank Waters) are unopposed. Republicans Darby McLaren (Sheriff) and Auditor Dale Sunderman, are also unopposed. Voters in the Benton, Edna, Union and Victoria Townships in Cass County, will have a public measure to vote on. If approved, the measure would allow the Board of Supervisors to appoint township trustees and clerks as the terms of incumbent township officers expire. In addition, four people: Chase Wheatley, Curt Behrends, Clarke Gerlock and Norbert Ray Wilson, are running for three seats on the Soil and Water Conservation District Board.

In Adams County, Democrat Merlin Dixson and Republican Jerry Peckham are vying for a seat on the Board of Supervisors in District 2, while three people are in the running for the County Auditor’s job, including: Democrat Kevin Wynn, Republican Becky Bissell, and Kerry Mullen, who was nominated by petition.

In Adair County, four people are looking to fill three seats on the County Agricultural Extension Council, including Jessica Christensen, Karen Schulties, Matt Mensing, and Tiffany Johnson. Ray Sorensen the 2nd is unopposed in his bid to fill a vacant seat on the Greenfield City Council.

In Audubon County, four men are running for two open seats on the Board of Supervisors. They include Republicans Duane Deist and Todd Nelson, and Democrats Jerry Carter and Kent Grabill. In addition, Republican incumbent Sheriff Todd Johnson faces a challenge from Democrat Blake Asberry. Audubon County Auditor Lisa Frederiksen is unopposed, as is Debbie Campbell, who is running Treasurer, to fill a vacancy term that will expire on Dec. 31st, 2014.

In Guthrie County, there are two contested county races on the ballot, both for supervisor. In the north end of Guthrie County, District 1 incumbent Jerry Caraher (D) is challenged by James Carroll (R). In the southeast corner of the county in District 5, challenger David Guisinger (D) hopes to unseat incumbent Mike Dickson (R). Running unopposed in other county races are two incumbents: Auditor Jerri Christman (R) and Sheriff Marty Arganbright (D). Due to redistricting, Guthrie County residents are no longer represented by long time Congressman Steve King (R), who is running against Christie Vilsack (D) for the newly created District 4 congressional seat. Instead, voters will choose between two incumbent congressmen for the newly created District 3 seat: Tom Latham (R) and Leonard Boswell (D).