CCMH Foundation awards scholarships


September 5th, 2012 by Ric Hanson

The Cass County Memorial Hospital Foundation has announced the 2012 recipients of the Louie and Elsie Hansen Memorial Scholarship:  Ben Kopp of Anita, who is attending the University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine, and Claire Markham of Atlantic, who is attending Creighton University School of Medicine. John Molgaard, of the CCMH Foundation Board and scholarship committee said they reviewed several,  “Very qualified applicants.” Molgaard said Kopp and Markham stood out because of their outstanding academic records, and because they have demonstrated strong leadership skills.

The Louie and Elsie Hansen Memorial Scholarship was established to benefit Cass County high school graduates who are enrolled in a college of nursing or medicine, leading to an LPN, RN or MD degree.  Two $5000 scholarships are awarded each year.  Consideration is given to applicants’ scholarship, citizenship and leadership. The Louie and Elsie Hansen Scholarship was established through the generosity and careful planning of these two life-long Cass County residents.  The Hansens believed in higher education, so much so that over 70% of their estate was bequeathed for that purpose, including a gift to the CCMH Foundation.

Under the supervision and guidance of the CCMH Foundation, scholarship opportunities are provided yearly.  As per the Hansens’ wishes, scholarship candidates must have graduated from a Cass County high school and be enrolled in an accredited nursing or medical doctor school. Tom Waterbury, Debra Church, Jason Andersen and Katie Smith are among the past recipients of this award.