Iowa Baseball Tournament Championship results


July 28th, 2012 by Ric Hanson

Robbie Anstoetter went 4-for-4 with two RBI to lead Dyersville Beckman to its first state championship since 2000, as the Blazers defeated North Polk 3-1 in the 2A state finals at Principal Park on Saturday. Sam Pickard came around to score the game’s first run on a sacrifice fly to right from Zach Easter to give North Polk a 1-0 lead in the first. Beckman took its first lead of the game on a three-run second inning. Michael Boekenstedt drove in Ian Ross on a single up the middle, marking the first earned run surrendered by North Polk starter Jake Hadaway this season. The Blazers got their other runs on Anstoetter’s two-run triple that scored Boeckenstedt and Ty Troutman. Blazers’ starter Adam Noethe (9-0) allowed one unearned run on three hits in 3.2 innings to earn the win. Nate Steger pitched three scoreless innings in relief to collect his sixth save of the season. Hadaway (10-1) allowed all three runs on seven hits and struck out 11 to suffer the loss.

In the 1-A Championship game Saturday afternoon, Martensdale/St. Mary’s defeated Mason City/Newman Catholic, 1-0.