Guthrie Co. Extension Council Nominating Committee Announced


July 10th, 2012 by admin

Four Guthrie County residents have been appointed to the Extension Council Nominating Committee. The committee is charged with nominating candidates for the five vacancies on the council before August 6, 2012.

Committee members selected to nominate extension council candidates for the 2012 election are Mike Carey of Panora; Mike Christensen of Stuart; Carolyn Schwartz of Bayard; and Cindy Steensen of Guthrie Center.

By law the nominating committee must include two women and two men, and cannot include any current member of the council. The committee is required to take county geography into consideration when nominating candidates.

Candidates nominated by the committee must submit petitions containing the names of 25 qualified voters to the county election commissioner by 5 p.m. on Aug. 29. Additionally, individuals may petition to have their names placed on the ballot through a self-nominating process by submitting petitions with 25 names to the election commissioner. Petition forms are available from the election commissioner and at the county extension office.

Voters will cast ballots for the nominees in the Nov. 6 general election. Successful candidates will serve four-year terms beginning in January 2013.

–Information from press release by Guthrie County Extension and Outreach