3 more area counties issue Burn Bans

News, Weather

July 18th, 2012 by Ric Hanson

The Iowa State Fire Marshal’s Office said today (Wednesday) three more southwest Iowa counties will be under a ban on open burning. The Burn Ban begins in Mills County at Noon today. in Page County, the ban takes effect at 8-a.m. Thursday, and in Audubon County, at Noon on Thursday. Outdoor burning is prohibited without a permit issued by your local fire chief or Emergency Management Office, until further notice. The bans are being implented due to the lack of rain and extremely dry conditions, which could result in explosive fire danger in grassy and timber areas. Those fires could result in substantial property damage and endanger lives. A Burn Ban went into effect in Montgomery County at 8-a.m. today.