LSU women, Florida men win NCAA titles


June 9th, 2012 by Ric Hanson

DES MOINES, Iowa (AP) — The Florida men took home their first outdoor national and the LSU women won their 15th in 31 years Saturday at the NCAA track and field meet. The SEC sweep snapped a three-year title run by the women and men of Texas A&M — and the Aggies join the league next fall. The men’s team title came down to the final race, the 1,600 relay, between Florida, LSU and Texas A&M. Anchor Tony McQuay gave the Gators the lead on the backstretch and the win in 3 minutes, 0.02 seconds. Florida finished with 50 points, followed by the Tigers (48) and Texas A&M (40). The LSU and Oregon women entered Saturday tied at 40, but the Tigers jumped out to a big lead after Kimberlyn Duncan won the 200 meters.