Franchitti takes IndyCar pole at Iowa


June 23rd, 2012 by Ric Hanson

NEWTON, Iowa (AP) — Dario Franchitti won the third of the first three qualifying heat races in the history of the current IndyCar series Friday to take the pole for tonight’s (Saturday’s) Iowa Corn Indy 250. Franchitti, the Indianapolis 500 winner, has two victories in four starts on Iowa’s short oval. Helio Castroneves will start on the front row with Franchitti, followed by 2011 winner Marco Andretti, James Hinchcliffe and Ryan Briscoe. The starting grid was set by three 30-lap heat races seeded according to practice times. The eight fastest in the last practice competed in the final heat, which set the first four rows for the Saturday night race. The opening two heats seeded the rest of the starting grid.