2012 Primary Results – Area Contest Summary


June 6th, 2012 by Ric Hanson

The unofficial results are in from Tuesday’s Primary Election. Here’s a look at some of the area Counties where there were locally contested races….

In Pottawattamie County: incumbent Republican Sheriff Jeff Danker easily won re-election to his job by obtaining 4,399 (nearly 63%) of the votes. His his GOP challenger John Hitchcock, received 2,609 votes (just over 37%). Incumbent auditor Marilyn Jo Drake easily beat her Republican opponent, Gary Herman, by garnering nearly 69% of the vote. In the race for State Representative, District 22, Greg Forristall was the winner, beating his GOP challenger Clint Fichter, by a little more than 900 votes.

In Audubon County: incumbent Board of Supervisor Todd Nelson and fellow Republican Duane Diest fended-off challenges by Monte Dreher and Roger Merk, to try and fill one of two seats on the board this Fall. Democrat Jerry Carter was unopposed in his bid for the nomination.

In Guthrie County: Jerome Caraher defeated his GOP challenger John Milhollin in the District 1 Supervisor’s race, by just 36 votes. Democrat James Carroll was unopposed in the election. In the District 5 Supervisor’s race, Republican Mike Dickson beat his challenger Robert Schemmel with his 71 votes to Schemmel’s 28. Dickson will face Democrat David Guisinger in November’s General Election.

In Montgomery County: incumbent Republican Sheriff Joe Sampson easily defeated his GOP challenger Chris Stephens for the job, by receiving 73%, or 920 more votes than Stephens.

In Shelby County: incumbent Republican Sheriff Mark Hervey easily won the nomination over his GOP challenger Nathan Christensen. Hervey picked up over 1,100 more votes than Christensen to keep his job secure. There are no democratic challengers for him to face this Fall. In the Supervisor’s race, Delbert Hull, who was seeking re-election to the Board, garnered just a little more than 9% of the vote. Of the six Republicans vying for the Board, Steve Kenkel had the most votes (33.57%), followed by Charles Parkhurst (18.93%), and Randy Nelson (17.86%).  Among the three democrats, Jerry Henscheid received 292 (or, 37.92%) votes, Lavon Christensen had 273 (or, 34.45%) votes, and Herb Christensen received 177 (or, 22.99%) votes.

You can find a clickable link to each of the County, State and Federal Primary election results through the Iowa Secretary of State’s website,  on the front page at www.kjan.com.