New Cy-Hawk Football Trophy Vote Opens


April 14th, 2012 by Ric Hanson

The University of Iowa Department of Intercollegiate Athletics, Iowa State University Athletics, Learfield Sports, and Iowa Corn announce today that the voting for the Iowa Corn Cy-Hawk Trophy presented to the winner of the annual football game between the UI and ISU will start on Saturday, April 14, at the spring football exhibitions of the Hawkeyes and the Cyclones and will continue through midnight on April 30.

In August and September of last year, fans of the two teams submitted nearly 500 trophy ideas. Reoccurring themes and top ideas were presented to a panel of former players and coaches from the universities as well as 2 representatives from Iowa Corn. Fans are invited to submit their vote online at

Voting will be tracked in real time and votes will be tracked by fan base. The winning trophy design will be officially announced during the first week of May. Then the finished trophy will be on the sidelines at Kinnick Stadium on Saturday, Sept. 8, when the Cyclones and Hawkeyes meet in this year’s kickoff event to the 2012-13 Iowa Corn Cy-Hawk Series.