Summary of some area election results (updated 10:43-a.m. w/corrected Cumberland results)


November 9th, 2011 by Ric Hanson

There were some surprises, some expected results, some delays, and even some corrections in the results of Tuesday’s General Election, in the listening area. Here in Atlantic, a glitch in a machine at the Cass County Auditor’s Office caused a delay in getting the results of the Cass County District Two Board of Supervisor’s race out to the media. When they finally came in at around 10:25-p.m., they indicated Gaylord Schelling had won the election, with 170 votes. Don Lappe came in second, with 150. The three other candidates each had under 100 votes. The results can be seen on our webpage, at, under the “News” tab.

Elsewhere in the county….
In Anita: Tim Miller, a write-in candidate, defeated other write-ins to become Mayor, and Jeff Bohnsack along with Thomas Harris, were elected to the city council. In Cumberland: Nancy Virginia Coughlin was elected Mayor, with 32 votes (The Cass County Auditor’s Office had an incorrect number of votes in their report last night). Sandra Armstrong, and Sandy Eversole, a write-in, where elected to the Cumberland City Council.

It was a very close race for Mayor in the City of Griswold, where write-in candidate Lee Wyman, garnered one vote more than Victoria Jones to get the job, 115-to 114. Elected to the Griswold City Council Tuesday, was Lisa Cook, Larry Mundorf and Ryan Askeland. And a Public Measure on the ballot calling for the establishment of Capital Improvements Reserve Fund to deal with future flood mitigation efforts, passed by a vote of 127-to 103.
In Lewis, incumbent Don Cohrs won re-election unopposed, while newcomers Bethany Nichols and Ryan Archibald, along with incumbent Duane Scott Anderson, were elected to the city council. In Marne, incumbent Randall Baxter was re-elected Mayor over two write-in candidates. Incumbent City Council persons Angela Redler, Dennis Preister and Lanny Kite were re-elected, along with newcomers Alan Cranston and Randy Henningsen. In Massena, Donald McCunn was elected as Mayor, with incumbent councilperson Linda Reineke, re-elected. Joining her will be Adam McCunn and Gloria Waters.
In Wiota, Ford Lillard defeated Kathryn Havens in the Mayoral race, and incumbent Lamar Spies was booted off the city council by the voters. Joining the council instead, will be newcomers Erik J. Johnson and Jon Schwarte.

In Adair County, Dennis Weigel was elected as Mayor of Adair, while the City Council At Large seats went to James Snyder, Larry Ludwig, and Craig Wedemeyer. And, Donald Eggen and Jim Zimmerline were elected to fill two council vacancies. In Bridgewater, Gary Firch was the write-in winner for Mayor. Joining the city council, are write-ins Kristi Burg, Steve Frese and Leo Marnin. In Fontanelle, R. Scott Homan was elected Mayor. Mark Homan, Linda Shafer and Patricia Glassell were elected to the city council. In Orient, a write-in, Louis Cruz defeated his write-in opponent Cecilia McGinnis by 10 votes, to become Mayor. Two other write-in’s, Shawn Subert and Gary Parman were elected to the city council in Orient.

In Audubon County, three candidates were elected to the Exira City Council:  Mike Huegrich, Kevin Petty and write-in Rob Jessen. Brian Olson, a write-in, was elected Mayor of Gray.

Here’s a summary of results from Pottawattamie County, as well…
In Avoca: Jennie Maassen defeated write-in candidate Allen Irlbeck for mayor. Newcomer Sandy Petersen won a City Council seat, while incumbent Fred Miller was re-elected. In Neola: Mayor Lon Ring will serve another term. Incumbent Joe Munch led a four-person race for three City Council seats. In Oakland: Mayor Betsy Moniz retained her office, defeating write-in candidate Joe Wede. In Carson: Eric Weave is the new mayor, defeating William Heitert. Five candidates were up for two council seats, with Troy Graves and Callie Kallsen the winners. In Macedonia: The City Council race featured five candidates for three seats, with Daniel Lajko, Mitchell Eason and Bradley Swope the winners. In Minden: Mayor Richard Armstrong won re-election.

Other election results are available on available for viewing on a separate News page.