Brownfield Ag News Reporters Recognized at NAFB Awards Program


November 15th, 2011 by Jim Field

Brownfield Ag News reporters recognized at NAFB Awards program

Three Brownfield Ag News Broadcast Council members of the National Association of Farm Broadcasting (NAFB) were recognized during the awards ceremony at the organization’s annual convention held last week in Kansas City, Mo.  Ken Anderson and Julie Harker received awards for news reporting and Tom Steever received tenure recognition.

Ken Anderson, headquartered in Lincoln, Neb. received Editor’s Choice Award for Exceptional Merit from the NAFB News Service for providing accurate and timely information on a variety of issues.  The NAFB News Service is a source of news and information to farm broadcasters representing more than 1,800 radio stations nationwide.

Julie Harker, based in Jefferson City, Mo. received third Place in the NAFB Newscast Awards.  Each year more than 140 NAFB Broadcast Council members throughout the United States are asked to participate in the award process.  Broadcasters are required to send a produced newscast that aired on a specific day chosen by the NAFB and a CD is compiled from all the entries.  The Awards Committee assembles a panel of farmers to select the winning newscasts.

Tom Steever received a tenure award for 35 years as a Broadcast Council member of the National Association of Farm Broadcasting.  Tom will serve as President of NAFB in 2012.

Brownfield, founded in 1972, includes Brownfield Ag News radio network and  Brownfield provides news, markets, weather, event coverage and feature and commentary programming relevant to those who live and work on farms and in rural communities in the United States, and to those with an interest in U.S. food and fiber production.

Brownfield’s team of ten award-winning agricultural journalists, all Broadcast Council members of the National Association of Farm Broadcasting, along with an ag meteorologist, Washington D.C. policy analyst and two market analysts can be heard daily on AM 1220 KJAN.