Applications being accepted for the Guy Powell Award


November 22nd, 2011 by Ric Hanson

An official with Midwest Partnership says they are currently accepting nominations for the Guy Powell Award- recognizing excellence in leadership and passion for economic development in the Midwest Partnership Development region. Sarah Gomez, Economic Development Coordinator for Midwest Partnership, says businesses and individuals who are members in Midwest Partnership Development Corporation (which serves Adair, Audubon, Greene and Guthrie Counties) are encouraged to nominate individuals who stand out as outstanding leaders in this area of west central Iowa, and who work to make it a more economically vital place to live, work, and play.

The Guy Powell Award was created in honor and memory of Powell, who was the past president of the Midwest Partnership Development Corporation, and an active volunteer on the board of many other area organizations. Gomez says Powell was passionate about local and regional economic development.  He was also a strong believer in the region’s potential.

The Nomination:  

Those submitting nominations should consider: 

  • Vision
  • Leadership
  • Courage
  • Impact 

Information to include in the nomination is as follows: 

  • Name & Address of the Nominee (Person, group or business being nominated.)
  • Name, Address & Phone Number of the Nominator (Person completing the nomination.)
  • A brief statement (500 words or less) on how the nominee has made an impact on their local community and/or region through volunteer service.  

The deadline to submit nominations is January 12th, 2012.  Mail or e-mail nomination form to: 

Monica Cateron, Office Manager
Midwest Partnership Development Corporation
P.O. Box 537
Stuart, IA 50250