Branstad requests Presidential Disaster Declaration for six Iowa counties


June 19th, 2011 by Ric Hanson

(DES MOINES) -  Today, Gov. Terry E. Branstad signed a letter to be delivered to
President Obama requesting a Major Disaster Declaration for Public Assistance for
six Iowa counties.  The six counties in the request are Fremont, Harrison, Mills,
Monona, Pottawattamie, and Woodbury.

The Governor is making the request in response to the ongoing flooding along the
Missouri River in Iowa.  Local and state agencies have been actively preparing for
and responding to flooding conditions along the Missouri River since May 25, 2011.

“Iowans need to remain vigilant as this flood is unlike any other that Iowa has
experienced," said Branstad. "This is a very serious situation. The flooding is
going to continue for several months. This is why I have requested the President to
sign a Major Disaster Declaration for Iowa.”

A Presidential Major Disaster Declaration for Public Assistance puts into motion
long-term federal recovery programs, some of which are matched by state programs,
and designed to help  public entities and select non-profits. Public Assistance
funds may be used for emergency work and the repair or replacement of
disaster-damaged facilities and may include debris removal, emergency protective
measures, repair of damaged public property, loans needed by communities for
essential government functions and grants for public schools.

Gov. Branstad is also asking for Direct Federal Assistance, to include, sheltering,
temporary housing and swift-water rescue teams if the need arises.

For more information, please visit