Branstad approves proclamation lifting travel restrictions in flood-affected areas


June 3rd, 2011 by Ric Hanson

(DES MOINES) – Gov. Terry E. Branstad today signed an emergency disaster proclamation relating to Iowa’s transportation systems within the six counties named in yesterday’s emergency disaster proclamation: Fremont, Harrison, Mills, Monona, Pottawattamie and Woodbury.

In signing the declaration, Gov. Branstad triggered the following actions:
*        Iowa regulatory provisions pertaining to hours of service for drivers providing flood response have been suspended.

*        Certain weight limit provisions have also been suspended for loads related to flood response moved on Iowa roadways, excluding the interstate.

*        Other regulations that restrict movement of oversize and overweight loads of livestock, soybeans, corn, hay, straw, and stover have been suspended.

*        Additional regulations related to operating authority registration and fuel tax reporting, as well as medical cards and minimum age requirements for commercial drivers engaged in flood response are suspended.

Drivers and commercial motor carriers are advised to review the proclamation for complete details and terms of the suspensions.

Flood updates are available at http://Governor.Iowa.Gov and<>.