Branstad requests extended timeframe to appeal for Individual Assistance


August 12th, 2011 by Ric Hanson

(DES MOINES) - Gov. Terry E. Branstad has requested an extension of the time period
to appeal FEMA's decision to deny Individual Assistance to five Iowa counties
impacted by Missouri River flooding.

On August 4, 2011, Gov. Branstad received notification that FEMA had denied his
request to make the Individual Assistance Program available to residents of Fremont,
Harrison, Monona, Pottawattamie and Woodbury counties. The State of Iowa has 30 days
to appeal FEMA's denial of the Individual Assistance Program. However, since the
flood water will recede slowly, the Governor is asking FEMA for an extension of the
appeal to November 15, 2011, so it may include damages that surface beyond that
30-day time period.

The appeal of the decision by FEMA will be coordinated by the Iowa Homeland Security
and Emergency Management Division, which will work closely with the local emergency
management agencies to determine additional damages and impacts caused by the
ongoing flooding.

The FEMA Individual Assistance Program is made available to homeowners, renters and
businesses and can include grants and low-interest loans to help pay for temporary
housing, home repairs and other disaster-related expenses not covered by insurance
or other aid programs.

In addition, the Small Business Administration (SBA) today announced that
low-interest federal disaster loans are available to Iowa residents and business
owners affected by the severe storms and flash flooding that occurred July 27 and
28, 2011.

The disaster declaration makes SBA assistance available in the Iowa counties of
Clayton, Delaware, Dubuque, Jackson and Jones.

(Press Release - Office of the Governor)