KJAN Sports

Listen Monday – Saturday for KJAN Sports at 7:18 am, 8:15 am, 12:20 pm, 1:20 pm, 2:20 pm and 5:20 pm!

Catch St. Louis Cardinal Baseball on KJAN — Check out the schedule!

Listen to the Kansas City Chiefs on KJAN — See the schedule!

Iowa Hawkeye Football & Basketball is on KJAN — View More Information!


KJAN Sports Schedule/Audio Archive

Want to watch some of your favorite games again?  Check out our video archives HERE!

Leake has 10 Ks, Cardinals hit 2 HRs in 5-1 win over Brewers


July 10th, 2016 by Ric Hanson

MILWAUKEE (AP) — Mike Leake struck out a season-high 10 over seven innings, Matt Adams and Randal Grichuk homered, and the St. Louis Cardinals cooled off Milwaukee rookie Junior Guerra in a 5-1 victory over the Brewers on Sunday. Aledmys Diaz scored from first on a single in the fifth to snap a tie and the Cardinals entered the All-Star break having cut a 12-game deficit to the Cubs to seven in the NL Central.

Adams snapped an 0-for-27 skid with a solo homer estimated at 455 feet to lead off the second. That ended a 16 1/3-inning scoreless streak for Guerra (6-2). The right-hander allowed another solo shot to Grichuk in the sixth and snapped a three-start winning streak. Leake (6-7) allowed six hits and no walks in his first win since June 12. Jonathan Lucroy had two hits, including an RBI single in the first for the Brewers.

Newgarden earns IndyCar win in Iowa


July 10th, 2016 by Ric Hanson

NEWTON, Iowa (AP) — Josef Newgarden cruised to victory in the IndyCar race at Iowa Speedway on Sunday, setting a series record by leading 282 of 300 laps. It’s the first win of the season for Newgarden, who finished second in Iowa in 2014 and 2015 and just missed winning the pole this weekend.

Newgarden, who broke his right clavicle and hand in a crash at Texas last month, established a huge lead in the opening laps and maintained it through three cautions. Team Penske’s Will Power was second, followed by Scott Dixon, Simon Pagenaud and Mikhail Aleshin.

It’s the 10th straight time that Penske failed to win at Iowa — despite sporting the top three cars in the championship race entering the weekend.

Serralles wins Indy Lights race at Iowa


July 10th, 2016 by Ric Hanson

NEWTON, Iowa (AP) – Felix Serralles overtook Zach Veach with two laps to go to win the Indy Lights race on Sunday at the Iowa Speedway. Veach appeared poised to cruise to his second win of the season. But he was slowed while negotiating lapped traffic and Serralles went high to overtake Veach and claim his third career win.

Veach finished second. Ed Jones was third despite leading a race-high 56 laps. Dean Stoneman finished fourth, followed by Santiago Urrutia.

National Sports Scorecard from Sat., 7/9/16


July 10th, 2016 by Ric Hanson


Oklahoma City 5, Omaha 1 (1st game)

Oklahoma City 9, Omaha 4 (make-up game)

Iowa 8, Colorado Springs 5 (The I-Cubs & Colorado Springs Sky Sox are in action again today beginning at 2:05-p.m. Colorado)



Chicago White Sox     5          Atlanta 4


Detroit 3          Toronto 2

Baltimore 3     Los Angeles Angels 2

Boston 4          Tampa Bay 1

Oakland 3       Houston 2

New York Yankees 7 Cleveland 6 (11 innings)

Kansas City 5  Seattle 3

Minnesota 8    Texas 6


St. Louis 8      Milwaukee 1 (Today’s game coverage begins at 12:15-p.m. on KJAN)

San Francisco 4          Arizona 2

Miami 4          Cincinnati 2

Washington 6  New York Mets 1

L.A. Dodgers 4           San Diego 3

Pittsburgh 12   Chicago Cubs 6

Colorado 8      Philadelphia 3

Briscoe wins ARCA race in Iowa


July 10th, 2016 by Ric Hanson

NEWTON, Iowa (AP) — Chase Briscoe won the ARCA series race Saturday at Iowa Speedway for his second victory in a row. Briscoe held onto the top spot following a pair of restarts and went on to win by nearly three seconds. Pole-sitter Kyle Benjamin was second, followed by Harrison Burton, Dalton Sargeant and Myatt Snider.

Kyle Weatherman was leading 88 laps in when his car got loose and slammed into the wall. Briscoe surged ahead and hung on for his second career win — both coming in the past two weeks. Weatherman finished ninth.

Saturday’s (7/9) Area Baseball Scores


July 9th, 2016 by Ric Hanson

District Scores:

Class 1A

District 14: East Union 14, Clarinda Academy 0 (4 innings)

District 15: Adair-Casey 20, Oakland/Riverside 12

District 16: Sidney 11, Essex 4

Class 2A

District 15:

Underwood 7, Red Oak 1

Shenandoah 12, Southwest Valley 6

District 16:

East Sac County 12, Maple Valley-Anthon-Oto 2 (6 innings)

Odeboldt-Arthur-BCIG 4, AHSWT 1


Bishop Heelan Catholic, Sioux City 10, Sioux City, East 4
Bishop Heelan Catholic, Sioux City 7, Sioux City, East 5
Carlisle 13, Winterset 3 (6 innings)
Glenwood 10, Knoxville 9
Glenwood 13, Knoxville 12
Lewis Central 11, Creston 3
Lewis Central 8, Creston 3 (9 innings)

Regional Softball Scores from Saturday, 7/9/16


July 9th, 2016 by Ric Hanson

CLASS 5ARegion 8

West Des Moines Valley 12, Council Bluffs/Abe Lincoln 0

Dowling Catholic 4, Ames 2


Region 8

Creston 3, Winterset 1

Glenwood 2, Lewis Central 1

Region 1

ADM 14, Denison-Schleswig 0

Bishop Heelan 13, LeMars 1

Finals set for Tuesday, July 12th:

Class 5ARegion 8

West Des Moines Valley vs. Dowling Catholic (7-p.m.)

Class 4A

Region 8

Creston vs. Glenwood (7-p.m.)

Region 1

ADM vs. Bishop Heelan (7-p.m.) @ Adel

IndyCar to run in Iowa through 2018


July 9th, 2016 by Ric Hanson

NEWTON, Iowa (AP) – The Iowa Speedway and the IndyCar series have reached a two-year extension through 2018. Iowa Speedway president Jimmy Small announced Saturday that the short track, which is owned and operated by NASCAR, will host races in 2017 and 2018. IndyCar has run races in Iowa since 2007, just a year after the Rusty Wallace-designed oval opened. The 10th annual Iowa race is set for Sunday.

Jay Frye, the president of competition and operations for IndyCar, says Iowa has become a staple of its schedule, adding that the track showcases some of the best racing the series offers. The 0.875-mile oval has also hosted a pair of NASCAR Xfinity events and one Camping World trucks series race in recent years.

Pagenaud wins pole for Iowa race


July 9th, 2016 by Ric Hanson

NEWTON, Iowa (AP) – Simon Pagenaud will start on the pole for the fifth time this season at Sunday’s IndyCar series race at Iowa Speedway. Pagenaud, the series points leader, qualified with a two-lap time of 185.886 mph and gave Team Penske its 500th pole across all forms of motorsports. Josef Newgarden will join Pagenaud on the front row.

Helio Castroneves, Pagenaud’s teammate, will start third, followed by rookie Max Chilton and Charlie Kimball. Pagenaud will seek to become the first pole sitter to win in Iowa in 10 tries.

Peralta homers as Cardinals beat Brewers 8-1


July 9th, 2016 by Ric Hanson

MILWAUKEE (AP) – Jhonny Peralta, Tommy Pham and Aledmys Diaz homered, helping Carlos Martinez and the St. Louis Cardinals beat the Milwaukee Brewers 8-1 on Saturday. Peralta hit a leadoff drive in the second off Chase Anderson (4-10). Pham connected for a solo shot and Diaz belted a three-run homer during the Cardinals’ five-run ninth.

Martinez (8-6) struck out a season-high 11 in five innings in his first win since June 11. The right-hander allowed one run and four hits with four walks. Anderson lasted just four innings. Kirk Nieuwenhuis hit an RBI single in the third for Milwaukee’s only run.