KJAN Sports

Listen Monday – Saturday for KJAN Sports at 7:18 am, 8:15 am, 12:20 pm, 1:20 pm, 2:20 pm and 5:20 pm!

Catch St. Louis Cardinal Baseball on KJAN — Check out the schedule!

Listen to the Kansas City Chiefs on KJAN – See the schedule!

Iowa Hawkeye Football & Basketball is on KJAN — View More Information!


KJAN Sports Schedule/Audio Archive

Atlantic Homecoming 2011 Activities

News, Sports

September 19th, 2011 by Jim Field

Atlantic High School Homecoming 2011

September 30

Atlantic Trojans vs. the Harlan Cyclones

Theme – Wild West

Dress Days

Monday:    80’s

Tuesday:    Celebrity

Wednesday:  Cowboy/Cowgirl

Thursday:  Favorite Teacher

Friday:  Black and Gold


There will be lunch games throughout the week as well as a Dodgeball Tournament for girls.

Each class will make a float and judging will be held Thursday evening.

Coronation/Pep Assembly will start at 1:19 pm on Friday, 9/30.

Parade to follow at 3:15.  Awarding of the Spirit Stick will take place at half-time of the football game.  Dance will be on Saturday, 10/1.

Queen Candidates: Taylor Barry, Amanda Delgado, Savannah Hoye, Paige Kennon, Ali Krogman, Sierra Larsen, Bre VonWeyhe, Nora Walker

King Candidates: Gunnar Blum, Austin Conrad, Christian Holzapfel, Ryan McDermott, Ian McNees, Rob Nichols, Derek Stork, Ethan Westering

Homecoming Parade Entry forms and rules are available in the high school office.  All parade entry forms are due by Wednesday, September 28.  Contact the office at 243-5358 if you have any questions.

Kuemper Catholic Cross Country Meet Results


September 19th, 2011 by Jim Field

Saturday, September 17 @ Swan Lake Park

Girls Team Results:

  1. Urbandale  47
  2. Harlan  69
  3. Shenandoah-Essex  88
  4. Spencer  89
  5. Webster City 141
  6. Atlantic  150
  7. Abraham Lincoln  163
  8. Denison  166
  9. Thomas Jefferson  267
  10. Kuemper Catholic  274

Atlantic Placewinners:

  • 1.  Ali Korgman 15:51.9
  • 30.  Alex Hartwig 18:10.02
  • 36.  Alisha Hinzmann 18:24.4
  • 37.  Liz Siggins 18:27.05
  • 46.  Katie Blake 18:42.34
  • 52.  Karly Monson 19:22.99

Boys Team Results:

  1. Urbandale  56
  2. Webster City  61
  3. Thomas Jefferson  78
  4. Shenandoah-Essex  105
  5. Spencer  127
  6. Harlan  140
  7. Denison  196
  8. Abraham Lincoln  198
  9. Kuemper Catholic  228
  10. Atlantic  245

Atlantic Placewinners:

  • 36.  Corey Whitt 18:57.68
  • 46.  Tyler Fischer 19:25.71
  • 50.  Josiah Williams 19:38.43
  • 54.  Tian Siggins 19:51.43
  • 59.  Derek VonSeggern 20:08.27
  • 62.  Preston Hoye 20:17.78
  • 63.  Sam Bateman 20:21.64
  • 64.  Ryan McDermott 20:23.71

Pigskin Payoff — Week 3


September 19th, 2011 by Jim Field

Game Score:  Iowa Hawkeyes 31, Pittsburgh 27

$25 — Peggy hansen of Elk Horn (IA 31-24, 3 pts)

$10 — David Woltmann of Harlan (IA 31-24, 3 pts)

$5 — Mary Ellen Woltmann of Harlan (Tie 31-31, 4 pts)

$5 — Mike Leed of Anita (IA 30-23, 5 pts)

$5 — Cliff Christensen of Atlantic (Pitt 28-24, 8 pts)

*** All Ties Broken By Drawing ***

Saturday’s Game: Iowa Hawkeyes vs. Louisiana-Monroe

Iowa QB Vandenberg Earns Big Ten Honor


September 19th, 2011 by Ric Hanson

IOWA CITY, Iowa (AP) – Iowa quarterback James Vandenberg is the Big Ten’s offensive player of the week after leading the Hawkeyes on an historic comeback against Pittsburgh. Vandenberg threw for 399 yards and three fourth-quarter touchdowns as Iowa rallied from a 21-point deficit to beat the Panthers 31-27. The comeback was the largest in Hawkeyes history. Vandenberg completed 17 of his last 20 attempts – including 10 straight at one point – while posting career bests in completions, attempts, passing yards and touchdowns. The Hawkeyes (2-1) close out non-conference play on Saturday, when they host Louisiana Monroe.

Iowa Energy Coach leaves for Rio Grande Valley Vipers


September 19th, 2011 by Ric Hanson

DES MOINES, Iowa (AP) – Iowa Energy coach Nick Nurse is leaving the team after four seasons to coach the Rio Grande Valley Vipers, the team Iowa beat in last season’s NBA D-League finals. The Energy announced Nurse’s departure Monday. Nurse, who played at Northern Iowa and was the D-League’s coach of the year last season, compiled a 123-76 regular-season record in four years with the Energy. Energy owner Jerry Crawford says the team plans to hire a new coach by early October.

Atlantic Steelers Youth Football Results


September 19th, 2011 by Jim Field

Sunday, September 18

6th Grade:
Atlantic Steelers White 6, Carroll Panthers Blue 2
Harlan Patriots 14, Atlantic Steelers Black 0

5th Grade:
Carroll Cardinals Red 20, Atlantic Steelers White 0
Harlan Patriots 26, Atlantic Steelers Black 7

3rd/4th Grade:
Atlantic Steelers Black 7, Harlan Patriots 0
Atlantic Steelers White 12, Carroll Cardinals Red 0

8AM Sportscast 09-19-2011

Podcasts, Sports

September 19th, 2011 by Chris Parks

w/ Jim Field


Saturday Volleyball Results


September 19th, 2011 by Jim Field

Red Oak Tournament
East Pool
Red Oak 2, Creston 0
Red Oak 2, Denison-Schleswig 0
Abraham Lincoln 2, Denison-Schleswig 0
Abraham Lincoln 2, Red Oak 1
Abraham Lincoln 2, Creston 0
Creston 2, Denison-Schleswig 0
West Pool
Clarinda 2, Treynor 1
Clarinda 2, Atlantic 1
Harlan 2, Treynor 1
Harlan 2, Clarinda 0
Harlan 2, Atlantic 0
Atlantic 2, Treynor 0
Consolation Bracket
Treynor 2, Creston 0
Denison-Schleswig 2, Atlantic 1
Treynor 2, Denison-Schleswig 1
Championship Bracket
Abraham Lincoln 2, Clarinda 0
Harlan 2, Red Oak 0
Harlan 2, Abraham Lincoln 0

East Union 2, Orient-Macksburg 0
Guthrie Center 2, EHK-Exira 0
Logan-Magnolia 2, West Harrison 0
Missouri Valley 2, Charter Oak-Ute 0
Missouri Valley 2, Logan-Magnolia 0
Missouri Valley 2, West Harrison 0
Missouri Valley 2, Nishnabotna 0
Nishnabotna 2, West Harrison 0
Shenandoah 2, East Union 1
South Central Calhoun 2, Carroll 1
South Central Calhoun 2, Nodaway Valley 0
St. Albert 2, Charter Oak-Ute 0
St. Albert 2, Logan-Magnolia 0
St. Albert 2, West Harrrison 0
St. Albert 2, Nishnabotna 0
St. Albert 2, Missouri Valley 0
West Harrison 2, Charter Oak-Ute 1

UCONN Alleges No foul play in Iowa State mascot’s injury


September 18th, 2011 by Ric Hanson

EAST HARTFORD, Conn. (AP) – Connecticut officials say that no foul play was involved when an Iowa State University student dressed as the school’s mascot broke his arm during his team’s game against the University of Connecticut. UConn officials say police told them the male student, dressed as a cardinal named “Cy” for the Cyclones, tripped on stairs at Rentschler Field during Friday’s game. The Hartford Courant reports that witnesses had said he might have been pushed when he went into the stands, though that was not confirmed and UConn officials dispute it. UConn athletics spokesman Mike Enright says state police told them there was no physical altercation and no foul play. The student was treated at a local hospital and released in time to return to Iowa on the team’s chartered flight.

Lions earn record-breaking 48-3 win over Chiefs


September 18th, 2011 by Ric Hanson

DETROIT (AP) – Matthew Stafford threw two of his four touchdown passes to Calvin Johnson and the Detroit Lions routed the Kansas City Chiefs 48-3 Sunday, their largest margin of victory in the regular season. Detroit broke its regular-season record set with a 44-0 win over the expansion Jacksonville Jaguars in 1995 and matched the mark set in the 1957 NFL title game when it beat Cleveland 59-14. The Lions (2-0) led Kansas City 20-3 at halftime and 41-3 early in the fourth quarter after turning two fumbles into TDs. The Chiefs (0-2) lost more than just the game, coming off a 34-point loss at home to Buffalo. Kansas City running back Jamaal Charles was carted off the field midway through the first quarter with an injured left knee.