KJAN Sports

Listen Monday – Saturday for KJAN Sports at 7:18 am, 8:15 am, 12:20 pm, 1:20 pm, 2:20 pm and 5:20 pm!

Catch St. Louis Cardinal Baseball on KJAN — Check out the schedule!

Listen to the Kansas City Chiefs on KJAN — See the schedule!

Iowa Hawkeye Football & Basketball is on KJAN — View More Information!


KJAN Sports Schedule/Audio Archive

Want to watch some of your favorite games again?  Check out our video archives HERE!

Kuemper topples #4 Nodaway Valley in 2A.


March 5th, 2013 by Ric Hanson

Sam Brincks scored 24 points and Carroll Kuemper used a big rebounding advantage to post a 61-54 victory over Fourth ranked Nodaway Valley in a class 2A quarterfinal round game. Kuemper took the lead for good by outscoring the Wolverines 21-11 in the third quarter and then held off a fourth quarter rally to avenge a 64-60 loss to Nodaway Valley in their regular season finale. The Knights owned a 37-27 rebounding advantage in part due to foul trouble to Nodaway Valley center Alex Welsch. The six-foot, seven senior still finished with 16 points and 12 rebounds. Nodaway Valley ends the season with a record of 23-2.

8AM Sportscast 3-5-2013

Podcasts, Sports

March 5th, 2013 by admin

w/Ric Hanson


HSBB: 1A State First Round: Riverside vs. St. Mary’s, Storm Lake 03-04-2013

Podcasts, Sports

March 5th, 2013 by Chris Parks

Jim Field and Chris Parks have the call of the game played at Wells Fargo Arena in Des Moines.


Boys State Basketball Schedule: Tue., March 5th 2013


March 5th, 2013 by Ric Hanson

Class 2-A Quarterfinals:

  • 10:30 am – #2 Nodaway Valley (23-1) vs. #7 Kuemper Catholic (16-8)
  • 12:15 pm – #3 Sheldon (22-3) vs. #6 Pella Christian (20-4)

Class 3-A Quarterfinals:

  • 2:00 pm – #4 Grinnell (20-4) vs. #5 MOC-Floyd Valley (20-4)
  • 3:45 pm – #1 Vinton-Shellsburg vs. #8 Harlan (18-6)
  • 6:35 pm – #2 Dallas Center-Grimes (22-2) vs. #7 Davenport Assumption (18-6)
  • 8:15 pm – #3 Waverly-Shell Rock (20-4) vs. #6 Mt. Pleasant (19-5)

Boys State Basketball Scores: Mon., March 4th 2013


March 5th, 2013 by Ric Hanson

1-A State Tournament
First Round
  • Boyden-Hull 58, Lone Tree 54
  • Danville 78, Wapsie Valley46
  • North Tama 47, Ankeny Christian Academy 45
  • St. Mary’s Storm Lake 73, Riverside 51

Kennedy Drey scored 33 points and Luke Lenhart added 28 as third ranked Storm Lake St. Marys pulled away in the third quarter in a 73-51 victory over eighth ranked Riverside. Drey also hauled down 14 rebounds as the Panthers earned their third straight trip to the 1-A semifinals. Ricky Williams scored 21 points and added 17 rebounds as Riverside closed the season with a record of 24-2.

2-A State Tournament
First Round
  • MFL-Mar-Mac 67, North Cedar 64
  • West Fork 45, Dike-New Hartford 36

*Winners advance to the Semi-finals on Thursday

Thursday’s Semi-final pairings:

Class 1-A:

  • 10:30 am – Danville vs. Storm Lake St. Mary’s
  • 12:15 pm – Boyden Hull vs. North Tama

Class 2-A:

  • 2:00 pm – Sheffield vs. M-F-L/MarMac
  • 3:45 pm – Winners of Tuesday’s games in Class 2-A (TBA)

Chiefs make sweeping move to keep 3 on roster


March 4th, 2013 by Ric Hanson

The Kansas City Chiefs retained three significant free agents Monday, signing punter Dustin Colquitt to a five-year deal, placing the franchise tag on left tackle Branden Albert and reportedly agreeing to a long-term contract with wide receiver Dwayne Bowe. The Chiefs had until Monday afternoon to decide whether to place the franchise tag on one of their pending free agents. They did it with Albert, who will make $9,828,000 next season. The decision was made easier by reaching long-term deals with Bowe and Colquitt.

Bowe was the recipient of the franchise tag last year, and despite poor quarterback play and some nagging injuries, still managed to catch 59 passes for 801 yards and three touchdowns. Colquitt earned a trip to the Pro Bowl as the Chiefs’ punter this season.

Lynn struggles with slider as Cards lose to Twins


March 4th, 2013 by Ric Hanson

JUPITER, Fla. (AP) — Lance Lynn allowed four hits in a three-run first inning and Jason Motte gave up a two-run homer in his second straight outing as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Minnesota Twins 7-0 Monday. Working on his slider instead of throwing fastballs and trying to induce fly balls into the wind, Lynn gave up three runs — two earned — and five hits in 2 1-3 innings.

Aaron Hicks and Brian Dozier started with singles, and Trevor Plouffe hit a sacrifice fly. Singles by Chris Parmalee and Joe Benson brought in another run, and Lynn threw wildly on Wilkin Ramirez’s grounder for an error that allowed the third run in.

Illinois faces Iowa team looking to build resume


March 4th, 2013 by Ric Hanson

CHAMPAIGN, Ill. (AP) — During any other season, an early March matchup between the Big Ten’s sixth- and eighth-place teams might mean little. But not this season. When sixth-place Illinois (21-9, 8-8 Big Ten) heads to Iowa (18-11, 7-9), both know they could make it to the NCAA Tournament.

Illinois coach John Groce said Monday that Iowa will be a contrast to Illinois’ last opponent. The Hawkeyes can play 10 players, while Nebraska played just seven last Saturday at Illinois. The Illini won that game only after coming from behind after the Cornhuskers ran out of steam.

Groce said he hopes three of his younger players can build on strong games against Nebraska. Point guard Tracy Abrams, center Nnanna Egwu and forward Myke Henry were all key pieces in Illinois’ win.

Iowa Boys State Basketball Scores from Mon., March 4th 2013


March 4th, 2013 by Ric Hanson

Class 1A Quarterfinals

Danville 78, Wapsie Valley/Fairbank 46

Storm Lake/St. Mary’s 73, Oakland/Riverside 51


8AM Sportscast 3-4-2013

Podcasts, Sports

March 4th, 2013 by admin

w/Jim Field