KJAN Sports

Listen Monday – Saturday for KJAN Sports at 7:18 am, 8:15 am, 12:20 pm, 1:20 pm, 2:20 pm and 5:20 pm!

Catch St. Louis Cardinal Baseball on KJAN — Check out the schedule!

Listen to the Kansas City Chiefs on KJAN — See the schedule!

Iowa Hawkeye Football & Basketball is on KJAN — View More Information!


KJAN Sports Schedule/Audio Archive

Want to watch some of your favorite games again?  Check out our video archives HERE!

Iowa State hires Linguist as secondary coach


February 19th, 2014 by Ric Hanson

AMES, Iowa (AP) — Iowa State has hired Buffalo defensive backs coach and recruiting coordinator Maurice Linguist as its new secondary coach. The Cyclones announced Wednesday that Linguist has been hired to replace Troy Douglas, who left for Pittsburgh last week. Linguist was also the co-defensive coordinator for two seasons at Buffalo. The Dallas native played and later coached at Baylor, where he was an honorable mention All-Big 12 selection.

Coach Paul Rhoads says Linguist is a “dynamic personality” who should also bolster Iowa State’s recruiting efforts.

8AM Sportscast 02-19-2014

Podcasts, Sports

February 19th, 2014 by Chris Parks

w/ Jim Field


Deer harvest in 2013 falls below 100,000,

Ag/Outdoor, Sports

February 19th, 2014 by Ric Hanson

DES MOINES, Iowa (AP) — The number of deer taken by hunters in Iowa last year has fallen below 100,000 for the first time since the mid-1990s. It’s the eighth straight year the dear harvest has declined in Iowa. The Iowa Department of Natural Resources says hunters reported 99,406 deer for the 2013 season, a decline of 14 percent from 2012 and 34 percent from the high in 2006. The 2012 deer harvest was 115,606.

The harvest data will be considered when the DNR begins the process of discussing hunting seasons later this winter. Deer hunters purchased 359,956 licenses last year, nearly 18,500 fewer than in 2012.

No. 17 Iowa State beats No. 19 Texas 85-76


February 19th, 2014 by Ric Hanson

AMES, Iowa (AP) — Melvin Ejim scored 25 points and DeAndre Kane added 22 to help No. 17 Iowa State beat 19th-ranked Texas 85-76 on Tuesday night for its fifth victory in six games. Georges Niang had 20 points for the Cyclones (20-5, 8-5 Big 12), who clinched their third straight 20-win season under coach Fred Hoiberg.

Iowa State outscored Texas 25-12 late in the second half to pull away and move within a game of the second-place Longhorns in the Big 12. They were keyed by Ejim, who had his second-best scoring game of the season. Isaiah Taylor had 26 points to lead the Longhorns (20-6, 9-4), who’ve followed up a seven-game winning streak by splitting their last four.

Drake holds off a Northern Iowa rally, 70-67


February 19th, 2014 by Ric Hanson

DES MOINES, Iowa (AP) — Richard Carter scored 19 points to help Drake hold on after nearly blowing a 20-point second-half lead against Northern Iowa on Tuesday night, 70-67. Carter’s 3-pointer put Drake up 52-32 with 13:22 left. After a basket at the 7:49 mark, Drake did not score again until Carter’s two free throws with 59 seconds remaining for a 64-60 lead.

Six Northern Iowa players scored during its 16-0 run, led by Deon Mitchell with five — including a steal and layup with 1:23 left. Northern Iowa got within 65-64 with 26 left and had a chance to tie it at the 12 second mark, but Mitchell missed an open layup. Drake’s Karl Madison made two free throws to seal it.

Trevor Berkeley added 15 points for Drake (14-13, 5-10 Missouri Valley). Seth Tuttle had 20 points in defeat for Northern Iowa (13-14, 7-8) while Mitchell added 16 points and four steals.

Area basketball scores from Tue., Feb. 18 2014


February 19th, 2014 by Ric Hanson

Bishop Heelan Catholic, Sioux City 64, Council Bluffs, Thomas Jefferson 41
Harlan 70, Creston 60
Lewis Central 70, Glenwood 66

Class 1-A Region 6 Quarterfinal
Ankeny Christian Academy 62, Guthrie Center 48
Coon Rapids-Bayard 52, Paton-Churdan 41

Class 1-A Region 7 Quarterfinal
Bedford 57, Lamoni 33
Fremont Mills 50, Essex 43
Murray 53, Lenox 26
Stanton 73, Sidney 38

Class 1-A Region 8 Quarterfinal
Adair-Casey 60, Heartland Christian 51
Ar-We-Va 61, Storm Lake St. Mary’s 48
Exira/Elk Horn-Kimballton 74, Woodbine 48
Kingsley-Pierson 56, Westwood 50

Class 2-A Region 7 Quarterfinal
Central Decatur 62, Mount Ayr 53
IKM-Manning 77, Riverside 44
Panorama 43, Earlham 40
South Central Calhoun 52, Audubon 41

Class 2-A Region 8 Quarterfinal
Treynor 48, St. Albert 47
Tri-Center 60, Missouri Valley 55
Woodbury Central 61, Maple Valley-Anthon-Oto 55

Falling Metal Forces Indiana to Postpone Iowa Game


February 18th, 2014 by Jim Field

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. (AP) — Indiana postponed Tuesday night’s basketball game against No. 15 Iowa after piece of metal fell into the seats at Assembly Hall about six hours before tipoff.

Athletic director Fred Glass said the school made the decision after the metal piece, roughly 8 feet long and 14 inches wide, fell into the lower bowl of the arena and damaged seats in the northwest corner. The game was scheduled for 8:00 p.m. and a makeup date was not announced.

Glass said the school made the decision for the safety of fans and that no decision had been made about whether to play Wednesday night’s women’s game against Michigan.

Assembly Hall opened during the 1971-72 season and holds more than 17,000 fans. A multimillion-dollar renovation plan is in the works.

Tuesday Girls Regional Basketball Schedule


February 18th, 2014 by Jim Field

Class 1-A Region 7 Quarterfinals

  • Sidney at Stanton
  • Essex at Fremont-Mills
  • Lenox at Murray
  • Lamoni at Bedford

Class 1-A Region 8 Quarterfinals

  • Storm Lake St. Mary’s at Ar-We-Va
  • Westwood at Kingsley-Pierson
  • Heartland Christian at Adair-Casey
  • Woodbine at Exira/Elk Horn-Kimballton

Class 1-A Region 6 Quarterfinals

  • Martensdale-St. Mary’s vs. Grandview Park Baptist at Ankeny Centennial
  • Guthrie Center vs. Ankeny Christian at Ankeny Centennial
  • Southeast Webster-Grand at Colo-Nesco
  • Paton-Churdan at Coon Rapids-Bayard

Class 2-A Region 8 Quarterfinals

  • St. Albert at Treynor
  • Missouri Valley at Tri-Center
  • Woodbury Central at Maple Valley-Anthon-Oto
  • Lawton-Bronson at Hinton

Class 2A Region 7 Quarterfinals

  • Audubon at South Central Calhoun
  • Riverside at IKM-Manning
  • Earlham at Panorama
  • Mount Ayr at Central Decatur

Iowa’s Bob Feller Museum fading financially


February 18th, 2014 by Ric Hanson

VAN METER, Iowa (AP) – The Bob Feller Museum is scheduled to reopen on April 5, but financial troubles are threatening its survival in his central Iowa hometown of Van Meter. The lack of money forced museum board members to close it on Jan. 3. It opened in 1995 to honor the Hall of Fame pitcher but has faltered since his death on Dec. 15, 2010.

Museum board member Bob DiBiasio told The Des Moines Register that Feller “was the engine that powered that museum.” The museum is working with the city of Van Meter and the Cleveland Indians to develop options.

Area basketball scores from Mon., Feb. 17 2014


February 18th, 2014 by Ric Hanson

Carroll 68, Atlantic 56
Abraham Lincoln 53, Bishop Heelan Catholic 40
Denison-Schleswig 70, Sergeant Bluff-Luton 64


1-A District 13 First Round
CAM 63, Stanton 47
Exira/Elk Horn-Kimballton 60, Audubon 53

1-A District 14 First Round
Essex 46, Riverside 43
Nishnabotna 58, South Page 42

1-A District 15 First Round
Logan-Magnolia 57, Whiting 13

2-A District 14 Quarterfinals
Interstate 35 52, West Central Valley 49
Panorama 65, Clarke 39

2-A District 15 Quarterfinals
Clarinda 64, Missouri Valley 44
Shenandoah 66, Red Oak 43
St. Albert 59, Southwest Valley 24