KJAN Sports

Listen Monday – Saturday for KJAN Sports at 7:18 am, 8:15 am, 12:20 pm, 1:20 pm, 2:20 pm and 5:20 pm!

Catch St. Louis Cardinal Baseball on KJAN — Check out the schedule!

Listen to the Kansas City Chiefs on KJAN — See the schedule!

Iowa Hawkeye Football & Basketball is on KJAN — View More Information!


KJAN Sports Schedule/Audio Archive

Want to watch some of your favorite games again?  Check out our video archives HERE!

8AM Sportscast 04-17-2012

Podcasts, Sports

April 17th, 2012 by Chris Parks

w/ Jim Field

Trojanns Top Underwood in Girls Soccer


April 17th, 2012 by Jim Field

Atlantic 1, Underwood 0 @ Atlantic 4/16/12

Alyssa Becerra scores at the 18 minute mark in the first period on an unassisted drive through the middle.  Atlantic’s defense held Underwood scoreless led by Emily Mitchell & Ali Hostfelt who combined for 20 steals & interceptions.  Maren McNees ended the evening with 15 saves.  Atlantic travels to Dension on Thursday.

Treynor & Audubon Split Golf Wins Monday


April 17th, 2012 by Jim Field

The Audubon boys varsity golf team both took its first dual meet loss of this season Monday, April 16, at Treynor.  The team score was 160-172, with Treynor’s Brad Bailey (medalist) shooting 38 and Nick Carolus (runner-up) with 40.  Audubon’s top four were Michael Bylund (42), Andrew Irlmeier (42), Drew Keller (43), and Andy Hoffmann (45).  Audubon’s dual record is now 4-1.   Missouri Valley is next in Audubon on Friday, April 20.

Audubon’s JV team was lead by medalist Chris LaFoy with 45, but also lost for the first time this year:  192-218.  Treynor’s Trey Robinson also shot 45.

On the girls side, Audubon beat Treynor 209-223 to remain undefeated at 5-0 for the season.  The Wheelers’ Susie Bylund was medalist shooting a round of 46.  Lexie Thygesen and Faith Fliflet each posted 53 for Audubon and Rachel Flug shot 57.  For Treynor, Meighan Ideus shot 50.

Trojanns 3rd at Valley Girls Golf Invite


April 17th, 2012 by Jim Field

The Atlantic Trojanns finished 3rd in the West Des Moines Valley Lamson Girls Golf Invite at Willow Creek.

Tournament champion: Waukee – 325, 2nd: Valley – 357, 3rd: Atlantic – 369.

Medalist: Payton Minear, Waukee – 73

Atlantic scores:

Brooke Fletcher, 4th – 83
Kaitlynn Walter, 11th – 87
Bailey Walter – 97
Shelby Worth – 102
Malachi Wickman – 148
Katie Blake – 180

Coach Kathy Hobson says:  I’m very proud of our performance today finishing 3rd in the 16 team field of 4A schools.  There are some quality golfers playing in the metro conference and our girls competed right along with them.

ISU Receiver Pleads Guilty to Lesser Charge


April 17th, 2012 by Ric Hanson

AMES, Iowa (AP) – Iowa State receiver Albert Gary, who was charged with first-degree robbery, has pleaded guilty to a lesser charge.  Gary was accused of committing a robbery at gunpoint on the Ames campus on June 19.  Gary pleaded guilty Monday to reduced charges of first-degree theft and going armed with intent, both felonies. He would serve no longer than three years of probation, pay $2,000 in fines and court costs and spend time in a halfway house.  A judge must accept the deal. Sentencing is May 21st.  Coach Paul Rhodes says he won’t comment on Gary’s status until the legal process is complete. Gary, a redshirt sophomore form Ocala, Fla., caught 23 passes last season for 287 yards and two touchdowns.

Chiefs Return for Start of Offseason Program


April 17th, 2012 by Ric Hanson

KANSAS CITY, Mo. (AP) – After a season of turmoil, one marred by injuries to some of their best players and the firing of the head coach, the Kansas City Chiefs are ready for a reset. The Chiefs began their offseason program Monday, and next week’s draft gives general manager Scott Pioli and coach Romeo Crennel another opportunity to fill holes that have developed since last season’s 8-8 campaign. Pioli has already been busy this offseason, bolstering the offense by signing tackle Eric Winston, running back Peyton Hillis and tight end Kevin Boss.    Kansas City will also get a bunch of players back from injuries, including quarterback Matt Cassel, Pro Bowl safety Eric Berry and All-Pro running back Jamaal Charles. You can listen to Kansas City Chiefs football all season long, on KJAN.

Van Meter Boy’s Track Invitational Results


April 17th, 2012 by Ric Hanson

Team scores:

  1. Van Meter  143
  2. Woodward Academy 122
  3. Martensdale/St. Marys  114
  4. Nodaway Valley 80
  5. West Central Valley 38
  6. Adair-Casey 32
  7. Lenox 21
  8. Iowa Christian 9

Local Individual results:

100 yard dash – 1st place: Clayton Plowman, Adair-Casey (11.25).

800 Yard Run – 3rd place: Gavin Kerschner, Lenox (2:14.50)

1600 Yard Run – 3rd place: Gavin Kerschner, Lenox (5:07.91)

110 Yard Hurdles – 1st place: Jackson Shantz, Nodaway Valley (16.32)

400 Yard Hurdles – 2nd place: J. Shantz, N-V (1:00.89)

4×200 Relay – 3rd place: Adair-Casey (1:39.46); Jordan Wheatley, Traeton Jensen, Emmitt Wheatley, Clayton Plowman.

4×400 Yard Relay – 3rd place: Nod. Valley (3:44.99); T.K. Bower, Kain Queck, Colton Graham, Jackson Shantz.

Distance Medley – 2nd place: Nod. Valley (4:04.52); Jaydn Erlandson, Baley Shantz, Alex Welsch, & T.J. Bower.

4×100 Shuttle Hurdle – 2nd place: Nod. Valley (1:05.90); Tyler Hennigar, Zach Brewer, Alex Welsch, Jackson Shantz.

High Jump – 1st place: Alex Welsch, NV (6-00.00); 3rd place – Alex Umbaugh, A-C (j5-06.00)

Long Jump – 2nd: Arzel Foreman, WCV (J18-09.00).

Shot Put – 1st: Greg Smith, NV (42-06.25); 2nd – Mitch Kearns, WCV (41-00.00).

Discus Throw – Greg Smith, NV (123-02).

8AM Sportscast 04-16-2012

Podcasts, Sports

April 16th, 2012 by Chris Parks

w/ Jim Field

Rally squirrel part of championship ring design


April 16th, 2012 by Ric Hanson

ST. LOUIS (AP) — The rally squirrel has moved on from T-shirts and stuffed animals. The World Series championship rings the St. Louis Cardinals received over the weekend pay homage to the critter that served as a good luck charm last fall. A tiny squirrel appears below the Cardinals logo and just above the player’s number inside a home plate with bats crossed. The Cardinals won two straight to upset the Phillies in the division series after a squirrel scampered across home plate as Skip Schumaker batted against Roy Oswalt.

Cardinals whip Cubs 10-3, take series


April 15th, 2012 by Ric Hanson

ST. LOUIS (AP) — Jake Westbrook allowed one earned run in seven strong innings and rookie Matt Carpenter homered, tripled and drove in five runs in the St. Louis Cardinals’ 10-3 victory over the Chicago Cubs on Sunday. Cubs starter Paul Maholm (0-2) surrendered six runs in four innings. The left-hander is 0-7 with a 7.03 ERA in nine starts since his last win on July 10, 2011 against the Cubs when he was with Pittsburgh. Carpenter has been getting regular duty while Lance Berkman recovers from a strained left calf and is batting .409 with 10 RBIs in 22 at-bats. He singled his first two trips with an RBI, belted a two-run shot to straightaway center off Lendy Castillo in the fifth for his first career homer and added a two-run triple off Rodrigo Lopez in the seventh.