KJAN Sports

Listen Monday – Saturday for KJAN Sports at 7:18 am, 8:15 am, 12:20 pm, 1:20 pm, 2:20 pm and 5:20 pm!

Catch St. Louis Cardinal Baseball on KJAN — Check out the schedule!

Listen to the Kansas City Chiefs on KJAN — See the schedule!

Iowa Hawkeye Football & Basketball is on KJAN — View More Information!


KJAN Sports Schedule/Audio Archive

Want to watch some of your favorite games again?  Check out our video archives HERE!

Iowa State Women Hoping for Revival in 2012-13


October 3rd, 2012 by Ric Hanson

AMES, Iowa (AP) — The Iowa State’s women’s basketball team spent roughly two months digging itself out of a massive hole and somehow reaching last season’s NCAA tournament. But its trip lasted just 40 ugly minutes. The Cyclones should have an easier time getting back to the NCAAs in 2012-13. Whether they’ll have enough to make a serious run remains to be seen.

Iowa State brings back its top three starters from last season’s team, which recovered from an 0-5 start in Big 12 play to earn an NCAA tournament bid. But the Cyclones (18-13 in 2011-12) were promptly blown out at home by Green Bay 71-57 in the opening round. Iowa State opens its 18th season under coach Bill Fennelly on Nov. 11 against Western Illinois.

Poppens Named To Preseason All-Big 12 Team


October 3rd, 2012 by Jim Field

AMES, Iowa – Iowa State senior forward Chelsea Poppens was selected to the preseason All-Big 12 team in a vote of the league’s coaches.

Poppens, who was a unanimous selection to the Big 12 first team last season, was the only player in the league to average a double-double last season, posting 14.2 points and 10.6 rebounds per game as a junior.

The Aplington, Iowa native was second in the Big 12 with 14 double-doubles, including a league-best eight in conference games. She finished 13th nationally in rebounding and ranked among the country’s top-40 in field goal percentage (.498).

The Cyclones open exhibition play Nov. 1 at Hilton Coliseum against Northwest Missouri State. The regular season tips off at home Nov. 11 against Western Illinois.

Preseason All-Big 12 Team

  • Brittney Griner, Baylor
  • Odyssey Sims, Baylor
  • Chelsea Poppens, Iowa State
  • Angel Goodrich, Kansas
  • Aaryn Ellenberg, Oklahoma

Honorable mention: Destiny Williams (Baylor), Carolyn Davis (Kansas), Brittany Chambers (Kansas State), Whitney Hand (Oklahoma), Chassidy Fussell (Texas), Asya Bussie (West Virginia).

Preseason Player of the Year: Brittney Griner (Baylor)

Preseason Newcomer of the Year: Jackie Patterson (Texas Tech)

Preseason Freshman of the Year: Alexis Prince (Baylor)

8AM Sportscast 10-03-2012

Podcasts, Sports

October 3rd, 2012 by Chris Parks

w/ Jim Field

Tuesday Area High School Volleyball Results


October 3rd, 2012 by Ric Hanson

Hawkeye 10:

  • (3-0) Glenwood 25-25-25, Atlantic 13-14-13
  • (3-0) Creston 25-25-25, Denison-Schleswig 23-15-10
  • (3-0) Harlan 27-25-25, Red Oak 25-16-19
  • (3-2) Kuemper Catholic 22-25-25-18-15, Clarinda 25-20-12-25-8
  • (3-0) Lewis Central 25-25-25, Shenandoah 11-14-17

Western Iowa:

  • (3-2) Missouri Valley 25-22-25-24-15, Audubon 17-25-16-26-9
  • (3-0) Tri-Center 26-25-25, Underwood 24-15-23
  • (3-0) Treynor beat Riverside

Rolling Hills:

  • (3-0) Exira-EHK 25-25-25, CAM 13-13-17
  • (3-1) Iowa Christian Academy 25-25-22-25, Paton-Churdan 21-19-25-23
  • (3-2) Orient-Macksburg 22-25-23-26-15, Glidden-Ralston 25-22-25-24-10


  • (3-2) Archbishop Bergan 17-25-25-13-15, St. Albert 25-16-18-25-12
  • (3-0) Ar-We-Va 25-25-25, Whiting 14-19-14
  • (3-0) Bedford 25-25-25, Corning 21-20-21
  • (3-1) Bondurant-Farrar 25-24-25-25, Carroll 20-26-22-21
  • (3-1) Coon Rapids-Bayard 25-19-25-25, West Central Valley 20-25-15-17
  • (3-0) Earlham 25-25-25, Guthrie Center 9-21-22
  • (3-0) IKM-Manning 25-25-25, Boyer Valley 15-11-14
  • (3-1) Nodaway Valley 25-25-23-25, Lenox 22-13-25-14
  • (3-0) Stanton 25-25-25, Fremont-Mills 17-19-16
  • (3-2) Villisca 27-21-25-25-17, Nishnabotna 29-25-23-20-15
  • (3-0) West Monona 25-25-25, West Harrison 22-16-14
  • (3-0) Woodbine 29-25-25, Charter Oak-Ute 27-6-17
  • (3-0) Woodward-Granger 25-25-25, Panorama 11-10-15

Cardinals lose but clinch playoff spot anyway


October 3rd, 2012 by Ric Hanson

ST. LOUIS (AP) — The St. Louis Cardinals clinched baseball’s final postseason berth Tuesday night when the Los Angeles Dodgers lost to San Francisco. The defending World Series champions were beaten by Cincinnati 3-1 but wrapped up the second NL wild card hours later when the Giants won 4-3 at Dodger Stadium. St. Louis will play at Atlanta on Friday in the new one-game playoff between wild-card teams. The Dodgers’ loss left them two games behind St. Louis with one game to go.

Jacobson seeking chemistry from Panthers


October 2nd, 2012 by Ric Hanson

DES MOINES, Iowa (AP) — Northern Iowa coach Ben Jacobson sees three physical areas his team must improve on this season. But Jacobson knows that chemistry will likely determine if the Panthers return to the NCAA tournament after a two-year absence. Northern Iowa returns most of the players who helped it reach the 20-win plateau for the fourth year in a row in 2011-12. Jacobson believes the Panthers need to rebound and defend better and improve their conditioning this season. He said Tuesday during the team’s annual media day that intangibles such as leadership and chemistry will be even more important.

Griswold Runs Well at Nodaway Valley XC Meet


October 2nd, 2012 by Jim Field

The Griswold girls took the team title at Nodaway Valley Monday night and in their best performance of the year, the boys of Griswold finished 3rd.

The Lady Tigers ended the night with seven runners in the top 25. Rebekah Topham ran yet another superb race finishing the difficult course in 14:37 to claim the individual title. Jordyn Sindt finished second with a time of 15:20, a full two minutes faster than she ran a year ago when she finished 3rd. Other top 25 runners for the Griswold team included: 6th Alyx Flippin (16:14); 12th Larissa Backhaus (17:09); 19th Leah Lappe (17:28); 23rd Bridget Maurer (17:48); and 25th Jeana Freund (17:54). The Lady Tigers won the team title with 40 points. Creston placed second with 60 and Corning 3rd with 102.

On the boys’ side Tyrel Peters, Xavier Olivo, and Jacob Maass ran together to all break the 19 minute mark and claim individual medals by placing 10th, 11th, and 12th, respectively. Also contributing to the Tiger 3rd place team finish was Zach Vance who has been out all season with an injury. Vance, Mason Anstey, and Grant Haynes finished 36th, 38th, and 39th in the 111 runner field. Aaron Metheny was the 7th runner for the team and placed 82nd. Creston won the team title with 59 followed by Nodaway Valley with 82 and Griswold with 106.

(from Jane Chaillie, Griswold XC Coach)

Woodbine XC Meet Results


October 2nd, 2012 by Jim Field

Tri-Center won the girls title at the Woodbine Cross Country Invitational Monday night.  Tri-Center scored 62 points, just two ahead of runner-up Underwood.  The individual champ was Breezy Weaver of Missouri Valley with Megan Deist of Audubon second.

On the boys side, St. Albert won the team title with the Falcons Josh Sindelar winning the individual crown.  Click the link below to see the complete results.


Times Set for Big Four Classic


October 2nd, 2012 by Jim Field

DES MOINES, Iowa (AP) — The tipoff times for the inaugural Big Four Classic basketball doubleheader in Des Moines have been set.

Iowa and Northern Iowa will square off at 1:30 p.m. on Saturday, Dec. 15 at Wells Fargo Arena. Drake and Iowa State will tip off at roughly 4 p.m.

Tickets range from $25 to $70 and will be good for both games.

The doubleheader will take the place of the annual series that the Hawkeyes and Cyclones used to play against the Panthers and Bulldogs.

8AM Sportscast 10-02-2012

Podcasts, Sports

October 2nd, 2012 by Chris Parks

w/ Jim Field