KJAN Sports

Listen Monday – Saturday for KJAN Sports at 7:18 am, 8:15 am, 12:20 pm, 1:20 pm, 2:20 pm and 5:20 pm!

Catch St. Louis Cardinal Baseball on KJAN — Check out the schedule!

Listen to the Kansas City Chiefs on KJAN — See the schedule!

Iowa Hawkeye Football & Basketball is on KJAN — View More Information!


KJAN Sports Schedule/Audio Archive

Want to watch some of your favorite games again?  Check out our video archives HERE!

Cardinals activate 2B Mark Ellis from DL


April 16th, 2014 by Ric Hanson

MILWAUKEE (AP) – The St. Louis Cardinals have activated Mark Ellis from the 15-day disabled list and inserted him into the starting lineup at second base for Tuesday night’s game against the Milwaukee Brewers.  Ellis missed the first 13 games of the season with left knee tendinitis. He went 1 for 3 while playing five innings during a rehab game Sunday at Triple-A Memphis.

Ellis signed a one-year deal with St. Louis in the offseason. The 11-year veteran is a .407 career hitter against Milwaukee. Shortstop Pete Kozma was optioned to Triple-A on Monday night to make room for Ellis on the 25-man roster.

Cards pitching shuts down Brewers again 6-1


April 16th, 2014 by Ric Hanson

MILWAUKEE (AP) – Shelby Miller struck out seven and allowed three hits over six innings, and Mark Ellis had two RBIs in his return from the disabled list to lead the St. Louis Cardinals to a 6-1 win Tuesday night over the Milwaukee Brewers. Matt Holliday and Jhonny Peralta each hit solo shots in the ninth off reliever Jim Henderson for the Cardinals, who handed Milwaukee its second straight loss following a nine-game winning streak.

Miller routinely fired fastballs clocked into the mid-90s past hitters before turning the game over to the bullpen in the seventh. Only Aramis Ramirez managed to break through off Miller hitting a solo homer in the fourth. The Brewers have just one run and six hits over the first two games of the three-game set with their NL Central rival.

Marco Estrada took the loss after allowing three runs over six innings.

8AM Sportscast 04-15-2014

Podcasts, Sports

April 15th, 2014 by Chris Parks

w/ Jim Field


Comstock Hired to Lead Fillies


April 15th, 2014 by Jim Field

The Shenandoah Board of Education approved a head volleyball contract for Toni Comstock. Comstock has served the past two seasons as Shen’s 9th grade coach. Comstock is an elementary teacher for the district.

Comstock is a former Fillie athlete. As a Fillie, Toni Ratliff, was a key member of the Fillie volleyball, basketball and track teams. She also competed for the Bobcats of Peru State University. Coach Comstock fills the opening left with the untimely death of former head Coach Chad VanHouten.

This past season Jon Skillern served as an interim head coach. Skillern will continue serving the volleyball program as 9th grade coach. Also Shannon Gilbert was extended a contract to serve as the Assistant/JV volleyball coach.

In other coaching contracts, Matt Potratz was offered the Assistant Baseball Coaching assignment for this coming summer.

Monday Local Sports Results


April 15th, 2014 by Jim Field

Boys Soccer:

  • A-H-S-T-Walnut 5, Missouri Valley 0

Girls Tennis:

  • Red Oak 8, Kuemper Catholic 1


Christofferson Inks Deal With Phoenix Mercury


April 15th, 2014 by Jim Field

AMES, Iowa – It wasn’t long after the conclusion of the WNBA draft that a deal was struck for senior Hallie Christofferson to continue her basketball career. Christofferson will sign a free agent contract with the WNBA’s Phoenix Mercury.

“I am very excited for the opportunity to continue playing basketball,” Christofferson said. “I am looking forward to what Phoenix has in store for me as I head to draft camp.”

Christofferson, a Hamlin, Iowa native, was a two-time Associated Press and WBCA Honorable Mention All-American and a two-time All-Big 12 first team selection. The forward led Iowa State in scoring for the second-consecutive season with 18.4 points. She scored in double figures in 29 of Iowa State’s 31 games, including 16 games with 20 or more points. She posted eight double-doubles and shot better than 50 percent from the field in 14 games.

“This is a great opportunity for Hallie,” head coach Bill Fennelly said. “Phoenix was excited to bring her to camp, and I am sure they will find out quickly how special Hallie is on and off the court!”

Christofferson recently wrapped up a standout career with the Cyclones after finishing her senior season sixth all-time in scoring (1,709) and eighth all-time in rebounds (762). Christofferson leaves Iowa State as one of the most decorated student-athletes in school history.

Ex-major leaguer Hal Smith dies in Arkansas


April 15th, 2014 by Ric Hanson

FORT SMITH, Ark. (AP) – Former major league baseball player Hal Smith of Fort Smith has died. Smith died Saturday at age 82. A cause of death was not released.  Smith was a native of Barling and signed with the St. Louis Cardinals as a catcher in 1949. He played for the Cardinals from 1956-61 and was named to three National League All-Star teams. He later played briefly for Pittsburgh in 1965 before becoming a scout and coach for several teams.  Survivors include his wife and three children.

Legislature honors ISU men’s basketball team


April 15th, 2014 by Ric Hanson

DES MOINES, Iowa (AP) – Iowa lawmakers honored the Iowa State University men’s basketball team for what they deemed a “brilliant” season.  The state Senate and House adopted resolutions Monday to honor the team for its accomplishments and congratulate coach Fred Hoiberg for leading the Cyclones to 28 wins, a Big 12 tournament title and the program’s first Sweet 16 appearance in 14 years.

Democratic Sen. Herman Quirmbach, of Ames, says the team has provided the Legislature with “tremendous pride” because of the courage and endurance they displayed throughout the season.    Hoiberg told lawmakers the bipartisan support the team has received from across the state is appreciated, and that the success they achieved wouldn’t have been possible without it.

Lynn, Cardinals snap Brewers’ 9-game win streak


April 15th, 2014 by Ric Hanson

MILWAUKEE (AP) – Lance Lynn struck out 11 in seven innings, Jon Jay hit a three-run homer and the St. Louis Cardinals snapped the Milwaukee Brewers’ nine-game winning streak with a 4-0 victory Monday night.

Lynn allowed three hits over seven innings before Carlos Martinez finished off the surprising Brewers, who still have the majors’ best record at 10-3. Lynn (3-0) frustrated hitters by mixing a fastball that topped 95 mph with a slider.

Jhonny Peralta hit a solo shot in the second off Brewers starter Matt Garza (0-2) before Jay tagged a ball over the wall near the right field corner in the sixth.

Local Sports Cancellations for Monday


April 14th, 2014 by Jim Field

  • No Little League Practice tonight (4/14)
  • St. Albert @ Atlantic Boys Soccer tonight (4/14) is postponed to 5/19.
  • Atlantic @ Lewis Central Girls Soccer tonight (4/14) is postponed to 5/15.
  • Girls Track Meet tonight (4/14) @ Creston is postponed.
  • Boys Track Meet tonight (4/14) @ Shenandoah is postponed to 4/15.
  • Southwest Valley vs. Red Oak Golf tonight (4/14) is postponed.
  • Southwest Valley vs. Creston Tennis tonight (4/14) is postponed.