KJAN Sports

Listen Monday – Saturday for KJAN Sports at 7:18 am, 8:15 am, 12:20 pm, 1:20 pm, 2:20 pm and 5:20 pm!

Catch St. Louis Cardinal Baseball on KJAN — Check out the schedule!

Listen to the Kansas City Chiefs on KJAN – See the schedule!

Iowa Hawkeye Football & Basketball is on KJAN — View More Information!


KJAN Sports Schedule/Audio Archive

Iowa Baseball Tournament Championship results


July 28th, 2012 by Ric Hanson

Robbie Anstoetter went 4-for-4 with two RBI to lead Dyersville Beckman to its first state championship since 2000, as the Blazers defeated North Polk 3-1 in the 2A state finals at Principal Park on Saturday. Sam Pickard came around to score the game’s first run on a sacrifice fly to right from Zach Easter to give North Polk a 1-0 lead in the first. Beckman took its first lead of the game on a three-run second inning. Michael Boekenstedt drove in Ian Ross on a single up the middle, marking the first earned run surrendered by North Polk starter Jake Hadaway this season. The Blazers got their other runs on Anstoetter’s two-run triple that scored Boeckenstedt and Ty Troutman. Blazers’ starter Adam Noethe (9-0) allowed one unearned run on three hits in 3.2 innings to earn the win. Nate Steger pitched three scoreless innings in relief to collect his sixth save of the season. Hadaway (10-1) allowed all three runs on seven hits and struck out 11 to suffer the loss.

In the 1-A Championship game Saturday afternoon, Martensdale/St. Mary’s defeated Mason City/Newman Catholic, 1-0.

Cardinals HR in each of first 5 innings, beat Cubs


July 28th, 2012 by Ric Hanson

CHICAGO (AP) — Matt Holliday, Yadier Molina and Lance Berkman started a power show by the St. Louis Cardinals, who became the first team in eight years to hit a home run in each of the first five innings and went on to beat the Chicago Cubs 9-6 Friday. Matt Carpenter and Allen Craig also connected off Travis Wood (4-6), whose five homers allowed matched the Cubs record. Carpenter put St. Louis ahead 7-6 when he homered on the first pitch of the fourth, and Craig homered into the left-field bleachers in the fifth. The previous team to homer in each of the first five innings was Houston against Colorado on Oct. 2, 2004, according to STATS LLC. Lance Lynn (13-4) tied New York’s R.A. Dickey and Washington’s Gio Gonzalez for the NL lead in wins.

Friday’s High School Baseball Tournament Scores & Saturday’s Championship Schedule


July 28th, 2012 by Ric Hanson

Scores from Friday…

Class 3-A Semi-finals:

Dallas Center-Grimes, 12, Epworth/Western Dubuque 2

Decorah 7, Sioux City Heelan 2

Class 4-A semi-finals:

Ankeny 8, West Des Moines/Valley 4

Ft. Dodge 4, Cedar Rapids Kennedy 2

Today’s (Saturday) Championship Round Schedule:

Class 2-A Championship – @ Noon: Dyersville/Beckman Catholic vs. Alleman/North Polk

Class 1-A Championship – @ 2-pm: Martensdale/St. Marys vs. Mason City/Newman Catholic

Class 3-A Championship – @ 6-pm: Dallas Center-Grimes vs. Decorah

Class 4-A Championship – @ 8-p.m.: Ankeny vs. Ft. Dodge


Bowe’s a no-show in St. Joe


July 27th, 2012 by Ric Hanson

ST. JOSEPH, Mo. (AP) – Wide receiver Dwayne Bowe, Kansas City’s leader in receptions and receiving yards the past three years, was not on the field Friday as the Chiefs opened training camp.  Bowe, a Pro Bowler in 2010, was given the franchise tag when he refused to sign the Chiefs’ tender. If he eventually comes in and plays this year, as the Chiefs expect, he will get about $9.5 million.  The sixth-year pro, a first-round pick in 2007, had 81 catches for 1,159 yards and five TDs last year. In 2010, he led NFL wide receivers with 15 touchdowns while making 72 receptions for 1,162 yards.

8AM Sportscast 07-27-2012

Podcasts, Sports

July 27th, 2012 by Chris Parks

w/ Jim Field


OG Steinbach Agrees to Terms with Dolphins


July 27th, 2012 by Jim Field

DAVIE, Fla. (AP) — Guard Eric Steinbach agreed to terms on a one-year contract with the Miami Dolphins on Thursday.

Steinbach started 124 of 125 games for Cincinnati and Cleveland in his first eight NFL seasons before sitting out all of last year because of a back injury.

In Miami, Steinbach will be reunited with new Dolphins coach Joe Philbin, who was the offensive line coach at Iowa during Steinbach’s four years at the school. Steinbach was the Big Ten offensive lineman of the year in 2002 and taken in the second round by the Cincinnati Bengals in 2003.

Chiefs Sign First-Round Draft Pick Poe


July 27th, 2012 by Jim Field

KANSAS CITY, Mo. (AP) — The Chiefs have signed first-round pick Dontari Poe on the eve of training camp.

The team announced the deal in statement Thursday.

Poe took part in the Chiefs’ entire offseason program, despite failing to reach a deal with the team that made him the No. 11 overall selection. Nobody has seemed overly concerned that the negotiations dragged out until the start of training camp.

The 6-foot-3, 346-pound Poe is expected to be in St. Joseph, Mo., for the first workout on Friday. He’s being counted on to shore up one of the team’s biggest weakness a year ago.

State Baseball Tournament Results/Schedule


July 27th, 2012 by Ric Hanson

Thursday Results:

Class 4-A

  • Ft. Dodge 5, West Des Moines Dowling 4

Class 1-A Semi-Finals

  • Martensdale St. Mary’s 7, Bishop Garrigan Catholic 3
  • Mason City Newman Catholic 7, Lisbon 3

Class 2-A Semi-Finals

  • Dyersville Beckman Catholic 6, Kuemper Catholic 3
  • North Polk 2, Davis County 1

Friday’s Schedule:

Class 3-A Semi-Finals

  • Noon — Dallas Center-Grimes vs. Western Dubuque
  • 2:00 pm — Decorah vs. Bishop Heelen Catholic

Class 4-A Semi-Finals

  • 6:00 pm — Ankeny vs. West Des Moines Valley
  • 8:00 pm — Ft. Dodge vs. Cedar Rapids Kennedy

Dodgers lose again with Ramirez, 7-4 to Cardinals


July 26th, 2012 by Ric Hanson

ST. LOUIS (AP) — The Los Angeles Dodgers lost their second straight game since acquiring Hanley Ramirez, 7-4 to St. Louis on Thursday as David Freese and Matt Carpenter had three hits each to back Cardinals starter Jake Westbrook. Ramirez, obtained a day earlier from Miami, started at third base and batted fifth for the second straight game. He had an infield hit, two walks and a steal, and he hit into a double-play grounder. The 2009 NL batting champion is 2 for 6 with three walks an RBI with his new team but the Dodgers are 0-2 since the trade and have lost three in a row overall.

Matt Holliday hit his 17th homer, his third on a 6-1 homestand for St. Louis, which fell behind 4-2 by allowing four runs in the fifth and then scored four in the bottom half. Allen Craig and Tony Cruz each had two hits and an RBI for the Cardinals, who entered six games back in the NL Central.

ISU to Play West Virginia Day After Thanksgiving


July 26th, 2012 by Chris Parks

Iowa State football will play host to West Virginia on Friday, Nov. 23, the day after Thanksgiving. The game will kickoff at 2:30 p.m. CST on ABC-TV.

The Cyclones have never played West Virginia, a new member of the Big 12 Conference. It will mark Iowa State’s first Black Friday game since 1902.

Iowa is set to play host to Nebraska the same day.  That game will kickoff at 11:00 a.m. CST on ABC as well, creating a Black Friday doubleheader in the state of Iowa.