KJAN Sports

Listen Monday – Saturday for KJAN Sports at 7:18 am, 8:15 am, 12:20 pm, 1:20 pm, 2:20 pm and 5:20 pm!

Catch St. Louis Cardinal Baseball on KJAN — Check out the schedule!

Listen to the Kansas City Chiefs on KJAN — See the schedule!

Iowa Hawkeye Football & Basketball is on KJAN — View More Information!


KJAN Sports Schedule/Audio Archive

Want to watch some of your favorite games again?  Check out our video archives HERE!

Leake fans 11, walks 0 as Cardinals rout Padres 10-2


July 19th, 2016 by Ric Hanson

ST. LOUIS (AP) — Mike Leake had his second straight double-digit strikeout game with no walks, and St. Louis beat the San Diego Padres 10-2 on Monday night. Leake struck out 11 and allowed one run and six hits in six innings. He fanned 10 over seven innings in a victory at Milwaukee on July 10.

Leake has four career double-digit strikeouts games and is the first Cardinals pitcher with 10 or more in consecutive starts since Lance Lynn in 2012. Pinch-hitter Matt Adams’ two-run double keyed a four-run sixth inning for St. Louis. Christian Friedrich (4-6) gave up four runs — three earned — and six hits in 5 1/3 innings. Matt Kemp homered for the Padres.


State Softball Tournament at Ft. Dodge – Schedule: Tuesday, July 19th


July 18th, 2016 by Ric Hanson

Class 5A Consolation Round

9:00-a.m. Cedar Rapids Prairie (26-15) vs. Davenport West (30-13) – Buena Vista University Field (BVU)

9:30-a.m. Indianola (32-10) vs. Fort Dodge (28-15) – Mittera Field

Class 2A Quarterfinals

11:00-a.m. Logan-Magnolia (32-2) vs. Central Springs (34-3) – BVU Field

11:30-a.m. North Union (32-4) vs. Iowa City Regina (26-17) – Mittera Field

Class 3A Quarterfinals – BVU Field

1:00-p.m. Davenport Assumption (39-4) vs. Atlantic (26-14)

3:00-p.m. Solon (32-9) vs. CMB (25-8)

5:00-p.m. Mt. Vernon (29-13) vs. Boyden Hull/Rock Valley (25-7)

7:00-p.m. Benton Community (40-2) vs. Estherville (19-15)

Class 4A Quarterfinals – Mittera Field

1:30-p.m. Carlisle (36-6) vs. Charles City (24-10)

3:30-p.m. Boone (26-9) vs. Bishop Heelan (26-10)

5:30-p.m. Fairfield (27-11) vs. Creston (24-11)

7:30-p.m. Oskaloosa (27-7) vs. Perry (24-12)

State Softball Scoreboard Monday 07/18/2016


July 18th, 2016 by Jim Field

Class 1A Quarterfinals

11:30 a.m. – Akron-Westfield 13, West Harrison 1 (4 innings)

1:30 p.m. –  Newell-Fonda 2, New London 1

3:30 p.m. – Martensdale-St. Marys 8, Charter Oak-Ute 0

5:30 p.m. – Kee 11, Belle Plaine 4

Class 5A Quarterfinals

11:00 a.m. – West Des Moines Valley 5, Cedar Rapids Prairie 0

1:00 p.m. – Pleasant Valley 9, Davenport West 0

3:00 p.m. – Urbandale 2, Indianola 0

5:00 p.m. – Johnston 6, Fort Dodge 2

Class 2A Quarterfinals

7:00 p.m. – BCLUW 2, Durant 1

7:30 p.m. – Van Meter 5, I-35 4

Two CAM Girls honored as Academic All-State by Iowa Association of Track Coaches


July 18th, 2016 by Chris Parks

Two members of the CAM Girls Track team were honored as 2016 Academic All-State Members by the Iowa Association of Track Coaches, Lindsey Dinkla and Mackenzie Cross.

Honorees must meet a set of four criteria to earn the honor. They must be a senior, must be a state qualifier, have a 28 or higher ACT, and 3.8 or higher Grade Point Average.

Dinkla qualified for State in the 400m Hurdles and 4x800m Relay.  Cross qualified as a member of the 4x800m Relay team as well.

(Podcast) KJAN Morning Sports report, 7/18/2016

Podcasts, Sports

July 18th, 2016 by Ric Hanson

The 7:20-a.m. Sportscast w/Jim Field.


Suzuki gets 3 hits, up to 2,994 as Marlins beat Cardinals


July 17th, 2016 by Ric Hanson

ST. LOUIS (AP) — Ichiro Suzuki doubled, singled twice and had another hit taken away on a replay challenge, leaving him six shy of 3,000 in the Miami Marlins’ 6-3 victory over the St. Louis Cardinals on Sunday. The 42-year-old Suzuki made just his second start this month with All-Star Marcell Ozuna getting a day off. He’s been largely reduced to pinch hitting behind a set outfield, and singled in that role on Friday.

Suzuki also walked, scored a run and came up just short on his bid to beat out an infield hit. All of that in wilting, 93-degree heat for a player who’d been 3 for 11 in July. Giancarlo Stanton’s second double of the game drove in the go-ahead run in a two-run seventh against Jonathan Broxton (1-2). Christian Yelich had two hits and three RBIs as Miami took two of three for just its second series win the last seven years in St. Louis.

Kyle Barraclough (5-2) won in relief and A.J. Ramos earned his 29th save in 30 chances.

State Softball Championships set to begin Monday, in Ft. Dodge


July 17th, 2016 by Ric Hanson

Quarterfinal Schedule for area teams:

Monday, July 18th

Class 1A

11:30-a.m. Akron-Westfield vs. West Harrison

3:30-p.m. Martensdale/St. Marys vs. Charter Oak-Ute

Tuesday, July 19th

Class 2A

11:00-a.m. Logan-Magnolia vs. Central Springs

Class 3A

1:00-p.m. Davenport/Assumption vs. Atlantic

Class 4A

3:30-p.m. Boone vs. Bishop Heelan

5:30-p.m. Fairfield vs. Creston

District Substate Baseball Schedule for Monday, July 18th


July 17th, 2016 by Ric Hanson

Class 1A

Substate 7

Martensdale/St. Mary’s vs. Nodaway Valley, 7-p.m. (7/19) @ Creston

Substate 8

Coon Rapids/Bayard vs. Tri-Center/Neola, 7-p.m. (7/19) @ Atlantic

Class 2A Substate Semifinal

Substate 8

Clarinda vs. Kuemper/Catholic, 7-p.m. (7/19) @ Harlan.

Class 3A

Substate 1/District 1

Sgt. Bluff/Luton vs. Sioux City/Bishop Heelan Catholic, 7-p.m. @ MOC-Floyd Valley

Substate 8/District 15

Winterset vs. Glenwood, 7-p.m., @ Winterset

Substate 8/District 16

Harlan vs. Denison/Schleswig, 7-p.m., @ Harlan.

Class 4A Substate Semi-final

Substate 8

#2 Valley, West Des Moines vs. #3 Lewis Central, 7-p.m. @ Valley/West Des Moines

District Baseball Finals – Scores from Sat., 7/16/16


July 17th, 2016 by Ric Hanson

Class 1A

Lawton-Bronson 6, Ar-We-Va 2

Martensdale-St. Marys 7, Corydon/Wayne 0

Nodaway Valley 9, Lenox 1

Coon Rapids-Bayard 13, Audubon 3 (5 innings)

Tri-Center 9, Council Bluffs/St. Albert 2

Class 2A

Van Meter 10, Earlham 0 (6-innings)

Clarinda 4, Treynor 3

Kuemper Catholic 16, Missouri Valley 10

Regional Sports Headlines: 7/17/16


July 17th, 2016 by Ric Hanson

ST. LOUIS (AP) — Adam Wainwright threw a three-hit shutout to keep rolling in July, and the St. Louis Cardinals snapped the Miami Marlins’ four-game winning streak with a 5-0 victory Saturday night. Jhonny Peralta homered and Stephen Piscotty had two hits, a walk and two RBIs at Busch Stadium. Wainwright struck out five with two walks and didn’t allow a hit until Adeiny Hechavarria doubled to open the sixth inning.

DETROIT (AP) — Salvador Perez singled, doubled, scored a run and drew two of Kansas City’s seven walks as the Royals eased to an 8-4 victory at the Detroit Tigers Saturday night. Kansas City scored four runs in the first inning off Mike Pelfrey, who didn’t make it out of the second. Every hitter in the Royals’ lineup scored exactly once except right fielder Paulo Orlando.

DETROIT (AP) — The Kansas City Royals have reinstated closer Wade Davis from the 15-day disabled list. Davis hasn’t pitched since June 30th because of a strained right forearm. Kansas City also optioned right-hander Brooks Pounders to Triple-A Omaha before Saturday night’s win at Detroit.