KJAN Sports

Listen Monday – Saturday for KJAN Sports at 7:18 am, 8:15 am, 12:20 pm, 1:20 pm, 2:20 pm and 5:20 pm!

Catch St. Louis Cardinal Baseball on KJAN — Check out the schedule!

Listen to the Kansas City Chiefs on KJAN — See the schedule!

Iowa Hawkeye Football & Basketball is on KJAN — View More Information!


KJAN Sports Schedule/Audio Archive

Want to watch some of your favorite games again?  Check out our video archives HERE!

Area High School Softball & Baseball Scores from 6/12/15


June 13th, 2015 by Ric Hanson

A-D-M, Adel 13, Van Meter 0
Ankeny 5, Creston 2
Atlantic 4, Griswold 3 (8)
Atlantic 4, Lenox 2
Creston 11, Griswold 1
Denison-Schleswig 16, Maple Valley-Anthon Oto 0
East Sac County 4, Carroll 1
East Sac County 4, Carroll 1
Exira-EHK 16, Woodbine 3
IKM-Manning 18, Audubon 0
Martensdale-St Marys 16, Southwest Valley 0
Missouri Valley 10, Underwood 0
Newell-Fonda 3, Kuemper Catholic, Carroll 1
Nodaway Valley 3, Central Decatur, Leon 1
Ogden 7, Council Bluffs, Abraham Lincoln 2
West Central Valley, Stuart 12, Orient-Macksburg 2
Winterset 10, Madrid 0
Winterset 5, Lewis Central 3

Carlisle 8, Winterset 2
Glidden-Ralston 4, CAM, Anita 2
IKM-Manning 10, Audubon 7
Martensdale-St. Marys 11, Southwest Valley 1
Missouri Valley 6, Underwood 5 (9 inn.)
Southeast Warren, Liberty Center 17, East Union, Afton 1
Treynor 8, Tri-Center, Neola 0

National Baseball Scores from Fri., 6/12/15


June 13th, 2015 by Ric Hanson

Iowa 2, Colorado Springs 0, 1st game
Iowa 1, Colorado Springs 0, 2nd game
Omaha 3, New Orleans 1
Baltimore 11, N.Y. Yankees 3
Detroit 4, Cleveland 0
Tampa Bay 7, Chicago White Sox 5
Toronto 13, Boston 10
Texas 6, Minnesota 2
Houston 10, Seattle 0
St. Louis 4, Kansas City 0
L.A. Angels 5, Oakland 4
Cincinnati 5, Chicago Cubs 4, 10 innings
Pittsburgh 1, Philadelphia 0, 13 innings
N.Y. Mets 5, Atlanta 3
Miami 5, Colorado 1
Milwaukee 8, Washington 4
St. Louis 4, Kansas City 0
L.A. Dodgers 4, San Diego 3
Arizona 1, San Francisco 0

UI officials: “mistake” sending Herky to Ernst’s Roast & Ride

News, Sports

June 12th, 2015 by Ric Hanson

University of Iowa officials say it was a mistake for the school’s mascot to appear at a fundraiser earlier this month featuring several Republican presidential candidates.Herky UI spokesperson Jeneane Beck told KCRG-TV that the school’s spirit squad agreed to send Herky to U.S. Senator Joni Ernst’s Roast and Ride not realizing it was a partisan event. “It was billed as an event, a motorcycle ride for veterans and heroes, that’s the way it was written. There was no ill intent on either side, it was just a mistake,” Beck said.

The event started with a motorcycle ride from a Harley-Davidson dealership in Des Moines to a barbecue in Boone. Herky and Cy, the mascot for Iowa State University, were both paid to appear at the event in Boone. The mascots posed for photos with attendees. ISU spokeswoman Annette Hacker said the athletic department will be reviewing its policy on which events Cy can attend after criticism following the Boone fundraiser.

(Radio Iowa)

(Podcast) KJAN Morning Sports report, 6/12/2015

Podcasts, Sports

June 12th, 2015 by Ric Hanson

The 7:20-a.m. Sportscast w/Chris Parks.


Circulator bus, park-and-ride set for College World Series


June 12th, 2015 by Ric Hanson

OMAHA, Neb. (AP) – College World Series fans wanting to avoid traffic congestion in downtown Omaha can use Metro’s Stadium Circulator and Stadium Express. The Stadium Circulator will connect TD Ameritrade Park with downtown hotels, parking garages, the Old Market and other attractions. It will run every 10 minutes and operate 90 minutes before the first game each day until 90 minutes after the last game. Cost is 25 cents, and special signs will designate pickup locations.

The circulator also will operate Friday from 9:30 a.m. until 30 minutes after Opening Celebration Day festivities. Stadium Express rides are $3 each way with exact change required. Locations are 121st and I Streets near Anytime Fitness, 102nd and Nicholas near Dick’s Sporting Goods, and Lots C1 and C3 of the Mid-America Center in Council Bluffs, Iowa.

CWS fans encouraged to text stadium staff if they need help


June 12th, 2015 by Ric Hanson

OMAHA, Neb. (AP) – Fans at the College World Series are encouraged to text guest services staff at TD Ameritrade Park if they encounter problems near their seats. For assistance, fans should send a text to 69050. Type “CWS” and, after a space, state the issue and seat location. Examples of problems guest services want to know about are impaired fans, altercations and abusive language.

Metropolitan Entertainment and Convention Authority President and CEO Roger Dixon said the text system has been tested at several events at the adjacent CenturyLink Center and has proved to be helpful. Dixon encourages fans to report suspicious activity, saying, “If you see something, say something.”

The College World Series opens Saturday at 2 p.m. with Arkansas playing Virginia.

St. Albert falls to Heelan in Class 1A Girls State Soccer


June 12th, 2015 by Chris Parks

The St. Albert girls soccer team lost to Sioux City Bishop Heelan 2-0 on Thursday in the Class 1A State Soccer tournament at Cownie Soccer Park in Des Moines.

Emily Sealey and Lexie Stolen scored the goals to lead Heelan to the win. Heelan moves on to the semifinals on Friday at Noon vs. Waterloo Columbus Catholic.

St. Albert’s season ends with a record of 15-7.

Several Hawkeyes selected in MLB draft


June 12th, 2015 by Ric Hanson

Four current University of Iowa baseball and two Hawkeye recruits were selected in the 2015 Major League Baseball draft Wednesday. Senior Nick Hibbing was taken in the 16th round by the Pittsburgh Pirates, senior Eric Toole was selected in the 22nd round by the Colorado Rockies, and senior Kris Goodman was taken in the 32nd round by the Miami Marlins. Junior Tyler Peyton was selected in the 33rd round by the Cincinnati Reds.

Hawkeye recruits Daniel Perry from Susanville California was taken in the 13th round by the Toronto Blue Jays and Chris Comito Junior of Norwalk was selected by the Chicago White Sox in the 15th round. Comito says he will sign with the White Sox. Peyton has announced he will return for his senior season, while Perry will have the choice to sign a professional contract with the Blue Jays or bypass the draft and join the Hawkeyes as a freshman for the 2016 season.

(Learfield Sports)

Baseball/Softball scores from Thu., 6/11/15


June 12th, 2015 by Ric Hanson


Lewis Central 10, Glenwood 0
Atlantic @ Shenendoah Doubleheader postponed to June 27th.
St. Albert @ Red Oak Doubleheader postponed to today June 12th.


Atlantic @ Shenendoah postponed to July 6th.
Lewis Central @ Glenwood postponed to July 13th.

All other area games postponed or cancelled due to weather.

Louisville Slugger mobile museum to make St. Louis stop


June 12th, 2015 by Ric Hanson

ST. LOUIS (AP) — Fans attending this weekend’s interleague series between the Kansas City Royals against the host St. Louis Cardinals will have the chance to touch a bit of history of both teams that squared off in the World Series three decades ago.

The Louisville Slugger Museum & Factory’s mobile museum will make its first-ever stop at Busch Stadium for the series that runs today (Friday) through Sunday. The traveling exhibit will include game-used bats from Royals Hall of Famer George Brett and late Cardinals legend Stan Musial. Fans will be allowed to hold the bat that Musial used in 1961.

There’ll also be a bat-making demonstration.