KJAN Sports

Listen Monday – Saturday for KJAN Sports at 7:18 am, 8:15 am, 12:20 pm, 1:20 pm, 2:20 pm and 5:20 pm!

Catch St. Louis Cardinal Baseball on KJAN — Check out the schedule!

Listen to the Kansas City Chiefs on KJAN – See the schedule!

Iowa Hawkeye Football & Basketball is on KJAN — View More Information!


KJAN Sports Schedule/Audio Archive

Australian wins PGA’s Cox Classic in Omaha


August 26th, 2013 by Ric Hanson

OMAHA, Neb. (AP) — Australia’s Bronson La’Cassie won the Cox Classic on Sunday to earn a PGA Tour card with a sixth-place finish on the Web DOT com Tour money list. The former University of Minnesota player beat Matt Bettencourt with a par on the third hole of a playoff. La’Cassie closed with a 4-under 67 to match Bettencourt at 21-under 263 at Champions Run. Bettencourt also finished with a 67.

La’Cassie earned $144,000 to jump from 33rd to sixth on the money list with $255,629. The top 25 after the tournament earned PGA Tour cards for the 2013-14 season. Bettencourt made $$86,400 to finish 16th with $162,877. Michael Putnam topped the list with $450,184. He had a 72 on Sunday to tie for 12th at 14 under.

Minor bounces back to lift Braves over Cards


August 25th, 2013 by Ric Hanson

ST. LOUIS (AP) — Mike Minor bounced back from the shortest outing of his career with seven strong innings and Andrelton Simmons homered to lead the Atlanta Braves to a 5-2 win over the St. Louis Cardinals on Sunday. Atlanta, which has the best record in the NL, broke a three-game losing streak and salvaged the final game of the four-game set. St. Louis had a four-game winning streak snapped.

Minor (13-5) gave up one run on six hits. He struck out two and walked one. He was pitching on seven days rest after allowing four runs in 1 2-3 innings against Washington on Aug. 17. Minor, who legged out an infield hit in the seventh, recorded his team-high 19th quality start.

Simmons hit his 12th homer of the season, a solo shot in the seventh that gave the Braves a 4-1 lead.

Chiefs cut backup QB Stanzi, draft pick Wilson


August 25th, 2013 by Ric Hanson

KANSAS CITY, Mo. (AP) — The Kansas City Chiefs cut quarterback Ricky Stanzi, sixth-round draft pick Braden Wilson and a dozen other players Sunday night as they prepared to reach the 75-man limit by Tuesday. The Chiefs were left with 76 players on the roster.

Stanzi was beaten out for the No. 3 quarterback job by undrafted free agent Tyler Bray. He was joined by wide receiver Terrance Copper and defensive back Neiko Thorpe in players who were part of last year’s 2-14 team that were involved in the first round of cuts.

Also cut Sunday were cornerbacks Vince Agnew, Otha Foster III, Kamaal McIlwain; offensive linemen Ryan Durand, A.J. Hawkins and Hutch Eckerson; defensive ends Miguel Chavis and Rob Lohr; running back Jordan Roberts and wide receiver Tyler Shoemaker.

Cardinals Take Third Straight from Braves


August 25th, 2013 by Chris Parks

ST. LOUIS (AP) – Rookie Shelby Miller worked seven innings of three-hit ball, Matt Carpenter and Carlos Beltran each homered and the St. Louis Cardinals beat the Atlanta Braves for the third straight time, 6-2 Saturday night.

Freddie Freeman homered for the NL East-leading Braves, who totaled five runs while dropping three in a row for the first time since July 3-5. Julio Teheran (10-7) allowed a season-worst five walks and was charged with four runs.

Miller (12-8) worked more than six innings for the first time in 13 starts since June 1. He struck out six without walking a batter while pitching with no more than a one-run cushion against a fellow 22-year-old right-hander. Center fielder Jon Jay made a leaping catch at the wall to rob Brian McCann of at least extra bases in the seventh.

The Cardinals, who began the night a game back in the NL Central, go for a four-game sweep Sunday with Lance Lynn (13-7) opposing Mike Minor (12-5).

Chiefs Beat Steelers in Preseason OT Game


August 25th, 2013 by Chris Parks

PITTSBURGH (AP) – Pittsburgh’s Ben Roethlisberger and Kansas City’s Alex Smith fought to a first-half draw and the Chiefs beat the Steelers 26-20 in overtime on Saturday night.

Roethlisberger was 13 of 19 for 166 yards and a 13-yard touchdown pass to Jonathan Dwyer as the Steelers shook off two lethargic performances with easily their best 30 minutes of the preseason.

Smith struggled early but led Kansas City to a pair of scoring drives late in the first half and finished 17 of 24 for 158 yards and a touchdown. Kansas City’s Jamaal Charles ran seven times for 10 yards in his first game after spraining his right foot earlier this month.

Kansas City won it on a 15-yard touchdown pass from Chase Daniel to Rico Richardson on the first possession of overtime.

8AM Sportscast 08-24-2013

Podcasts, Sports

August 24th, 2013 by Chris Parks

w/ Chris Parks


2013 High School Football Scores – Week 0, August 23


August 24th, 2013 by Chris Parks


Eight Man, District 6

  • CAM 40 @ Adair-Casey 55
  • Grandview Park Baptist 6 @ Coon Rapids-Bayard 66
  • Glidden-Ralston 41 @ Murray 32
  • Mormon Trail 49 @ Seymour 6
  • Colo-Nesco 26 @ Melcher-Dallas 34
  • Lenox 36 @ East Union 2

Eight Man, District 7

  • Boyer Valley 50 @ Kingsley-Pierson 14
  • Fremont-Mills 12 @ West Harrison 62
  • Sidney 44 @ Ar-We-Va 20

Eight Man, District 8

  • Stanton 48 @ Nishnabotna 28
  • Essex/South Page 14 @ Twin Cedars 48
  • Southwest Valley 48 @ Tri-County 20

Class 2A, District 8

  • Clarke, Osceola 36, Clarinda Academy 28

Week 0 High School Football Scores


August 24th, 2013 by Chris Parks

Here is the scoreboard for the early week high school football games in Western Iowa.
Adair-Casey 55, CAM, Anita 40
Boyer Valley, Dunlap 50, Kingsley-Pierson 14
Clarke, Osceola 36, Clarinda Academy 28
Coon Rapids-Bayard 66, Grandview Park Baptist, Des Moines 6
Glidden-Ralston 41, Murray 32
Lenox 36, East Union, Afton 2
Melcher-Dallas 34, Colo-NESCO 26
Mormon Trail, Garden Grove 49, Seymour 6
Sidney 44, Ar-We-Va, Westside 20
Southwest Valley 48, Tri-County, Thornburg 20
Stanton 48, Nishnabotna 28
Twin Cedars, Bussey 48, Essex 14
West Harrison, Mondamin 62, Fremont Mills, Tabor 12

Wainright Key as Cards Top Braves Friday


August 24th, 2013 by Chris Parks

ST. LOUIS (AP) – Adam Wainwright earned his NL-leading 15th win with his fifth complete game and had a key sacrifice fly to lead the St. Louis Cardinals to a 3-1 victory over the Atlanta Braves on Friday night.

Matt Holliday’s 432-foot home run off Kris Medlen (10-12) snapped a sixth-inning tie for St. Louis, which took the first two games of a four-game set against the NL East leaders.

Having already thrown 101 pitches, Wainwright was allowed to bat with the one out and the bases loaded in the seventh inning and hit a long sacrifice fly off Scott Downs for his third RBI of the season to make it 3-1. He then retired the side in order in the eighth.

Iowa tabs Jake Rudock as QB


August 23rd, 2013 by Ric Hanson

IOWA CITY, Iowa (AP) — Iowa sophomore Jake Rudock will be the starting quarterback for the season opener against Northern Illinois on Aug. 31. The announcement was made on Friday. Rudock was the backup to James Vandenberg in 2012, though he never took a snap for the Hawkeyes.

Rudock, from Weston, Fla., played for St. Thomas Aquinas High — winning 31 games and three state titles as the starter. He takes over a passing game that threw just seven TD tosses last season and ranked 104th nationally in yards.

C.J. Beathard and Cody Sokol will serve as Rudock’s backups.