KJAN Sports

Listen Monday – Saturday for KJAN Sports at 7:18 am, 8:15 am, 12:20 pm, 1:20 pm, 2:20 pm and 5:20 pm!

Catch St. Louis Cardinal Baseball on KJAN — Check out the schedule!

Listen to the Kansas City Chiefs on KJAN — See the schedule!

Iowa Hawkeye Football & Basketball is on KJAN — View More Information!


KJAN Sports Schedule/Audio Archive

Want to watch some of your favorite games again?  Check out our video archives HERE!

Girls Track Results from Central Indoor Meet in Pella


March 24th, 2014 by Jim Field

Atlantic Results from Saturday, March 22, 2014


  • 3000 – Tiffany Williams – 6th place  (11:49.45)
  • 3000 – Karly Monson – 14th place (12:00)
  • 3000 – Savannah Sorenson – 15th place (12:20)
  • 4 x 800 Relay – Savannah Sorenson, Karly Monson, Lexi Freund, Tiffany Williams – 12th place (11:10)
  • High Jump – Stephanie Sandbothe – Tie-9th place (4′-08″)
  • Long Jump – Tiffany Williams – Tie-21st place (14′-0″)
  • Shot Put – Tetta Askeland – Tie-23rd place (30′-5″)

Iowa women blow out Marist 87-65


March 24th, 2014 by Ric Hanson

IOWA CITY, Iowa (AP) — Theairra Taylor scored 22 points, Bethany Doolittle added 21 and Iowa blew out Marist 87-65 on Sunday in the first round of the NCAA tournament. Samantha Logic had 11 points, 10 assists and nine rebounds for the sixth-seeded Hawkeyes (27-8), who will face third-seeded Louisville on Tuesday for a trip to the Sweet Sixteen.

Iowa took control late in the first half and relied on strong shooting to advance to the second round for the second year in a row. The Hawkeyes shot 57 percent from the field and 12 of 25 from 3-point range

Emma O’Connor, Sydney Coffey and Madeline Blais each had 12 to lead the 11th-seeded Red Foxes (27-7), who were outscored 49-35 in the second half.

No. 3 seed Iowa State ousts North Carolina 85-83


March 23rd, 2014 by Ric Hanson

SAN ANTONIO (AP) — DeAndre Kane drove for the game-winning layup with 1.6 seconds left and No. 3 seed Iowa State beat North Carolina 85-83 on Sunday, advancing to the Sweet 16 for the first time since 2000. The Cyclones (28-7) head to Madison Square Garden next week to face No. 7 seed Connecticut in the East Regional semifinals.

The Tar Heels (24-10) are gone in the NCAA tournament’s opening weekend for the first time in consecutive seasons under coach Roy Williams. North Carolina’s Nate Britt raced the ball up court after Kane’s basket, but time expired before he could reach halfcourt and call a timeout. Officials huddled for several minutes reviewing clock replays before ruling the game was over.

Kelly, Holliday lead Cardinals to win over Astros


March 23rd, 2014 by Ric Hanson

JUPITER, Fla. (AP) — Joe Kelly allowed his first hit in a two-run sixth inning and Matt Holliday homered, leading the St. Louis Cardinals to a 6-3 victory Sunday over the Houston Astros. Kelly’s control fluctuated in his fourth spring start, striking out five but also walking four. He did not get an out in the sixth. Kelly’s Grapefruit League ERA dropped to 6.29.

Shortstop Jhonny Peralta gave the Cardinals the lead in the second with his third homer of the spring. Holliday hit his first of the spring in the third and Matt Adams also connected in the third, a two-run homer off Astros starter Jerome Williams. Williams gave up six runs and nine hits in four innings.

Closer Trevor Rosenthal took a come-backer off his backside in the ninth. The ball caromed to third baseman Daniel Descalso, who threw to first in time to get Marwin Gonzalez. Rosenthal remained in the game and recorded the save.

Seminoles beat Cyclones, Christofferson’s historic career ends


March 22nd, 2014 by Chris Parks

AMES, Iowa (AP) – Natasha Howard had her school-record 15th double-double of the season with 10 points and 13 rebounds, and 10th-seeded Florida State defeated cold-shooting Iowa State 55-44 in the first round of the NCAA women’s tournament on Saturday.

The Seminoles (21-11) won their 11th straight tournament opener since 1991, prevailing in a game in which turnovers outnumbered field goals 44-36. They’ll play No. 2 seeded Stanford or No. 15 South Dakota on Monday night.

Cheetah Delgado had 10 points and six assists and Ivey Slaughter grabbed 13 rebounds for the Seminoles.

Hallie Christofferson scored 13 points, Brynn Williamson added 12 on four 3-pointers, and Jadda Buckey had 10 for the Cyclones (20-11).

Howard came in averaging 29.2 points in her previous nine games but didn’t crack double figures until less than 4 minutes were left.

7AM Sportscast 03-22-2014

Podcasts, Sports

March 22nd, 2014 by Chris Parks

w/ Chris Parks

Cyclones Roll to NCAA Tourney Win


March 22nd, 2014 by Chris Parks

SAN ANTONIO (AP) – Georges Niang scored 24 points to lead third-seeded Iowa State as the Cyclones pulled away from No. 14 North Carolina Central in the second half for a 93-75 win Friday night in the East Region.

The Big 12 tournament champions found themselves in an early struggle with a program making its first NCAA tournament appearance in just its third year as a full-time Division I program. But the Cyclones’ quickness and balance eventually took over.

Iowa State (27-7) had five players score in double figures. Niang’s two 3-pointers early in the second half keyed Iowa State’s run that put the game away.

Jeremy Ingram scored 28 for North Carolina Central (28-6), which came in on a 20-game win streak and won the Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference.

Chiefs Sign CB Owens


March 22nd, 2014 by Chris Parks

KANSAS CITY, Mo. (AP) – The Chiefs have signed cornerback Chris Owens, who will likely take over the nickel position and provide depth behind starters Sean Smith and Brandon Flowers.

Kansas City waived defensive lineman Brandon Moore on Friday to make room for Owens, who spent last season with Miami and Cleveland after four seasons with the Falcons.

The 5-foot-9 Owens doesn’t fit the mold of big, physical cornerbacks preferred by Chiefs general manager John Dorsey and coach Andy Reid, but he does have the kind of speed and toughness that helps him make up for his size.

The Chiefs were desperate for depth in the defensive backfield after they let free safety Kendrick Lewis go in free agency and parted ways with veteran Dunta Robinson.

Iowa coach says son’s tumor was malignant

News, Sports

March 21st, 2014 by Ric Hanson

IOWA CITY, Iowa (AP) — Iowa coach Fran McCaffery says the tumor that doctors removed from his son’s thyroid earlier this week was malignant. McCaffery’s 14-year-old son Patrick had surgery in Iowa City on Wednesday, just hours before the Hawkeyes lost to Tennessee in the First Four of the NCAA tournament.

McCaffery says he and his family will meet with doctors soon to determine further treatment for Patrick. McCaffery isn’t planning to additional comment on his son’s condition at this time.

Iowa prep coach sticks with decision to quit


March 21st, 2014 by Ric Hanson

INDEPENDENCE, Iowa (AP) – The head girls basketball coach at the high school in Independence has carried through with his intention to quit. Rod Conrad and assistant coach Rob Ratchford had complained of threats and criticism from parents and others. The school board accepted Ratchford’s resignation on Monday.

Conrad had said in a statement released March 12 that he’d had second thoughts, citing community support that had surfaced.  Athletics director Rob Arnold said Thursday that Conrad finally concluded that after everything that had happened, Conrad didn’t think he could be as effective in the post.