KJAN Sports

Listen Monday – Saturday for KJAN Sports at 7:18 am, 8:15 am, 12:20 pm, 1:20 pm, 2:20 pm and 5:20 pm!

Catch St. Louis Cardinal Baseball on KJAN — Check out the schedule!

Listen to the Kansas City Chiefs on KJAN – See the schedule!

Iowa Hawkeye Football & Basketball is on KJAN — View More Information!


KJAN Sports Schedule/Audio Archive

No. 23 Iowa women rally past No. 17 Purdue 87-80


March 7th, 2014 by Ric Hanson

INDIANAPOLIS (AP) — Ally Disterhoft scored 10 of her 12 points in the final 5:38 as 23rd-ranked and fifth-seeded Iowa clawed back from the brink with a 24-11 closing run to upend No. 17, fourth-seeded Purdue 87-80 in a Big 10 quarterfinal Friday. The Hawkeyes (25-7) face eighth-seeded Ohio State (17-17) in a semifinal Saturday after the Buckeyes shocked No. 11 and top-seeded Penn State, 99-82.

Purdue (21-8) battled through seven ties and six lead changes in the first half to lead 39-35 at the break and appeared to be in control after halftime with Courtney Moses banging down 24 points. Iowa’s all-Big Ten selections Disterhoft, Samantha Logic and Bethany Doolittle were held to a combined seven points in the first half due to foul trouble but caught fire in the second. Doolittle finished with 16 and Logic 12.

Disterhoft scored six in an 8-1 run for a 71-70 lead Iowa never lost.

Marlins, Alvarez beat Wainwright, Cardinals


March 7th, 2014 by Ric Hanson

JUPITER, Fla. (AP) — Henderson Alvarez retired all nine batters he faced in his first start since pitching a no-hitter on the final day last season, leading the Miami Marlins to a 7-3 victory over a split Cardinals squad. Alvarez was slowed this spring by a shin infection. He hasn’t allowed a run since Sept. 24 or a hit in 12 consecutive innings.

Cardinals ace Adam Wainwright was equally efficient in his first start of spring training. Wainwright faced the minimum in two innings while striking out one. The right-hander needed only 25 pitches to get through the first two innings. Wainwright was slated to make his first appearance Thursday at Minnesota, but that game was rained out. He will pitch again Tuesday, working on three days’ rest, to get him back on track to start opening day.

The Marlins roughed up Lance Lynn for five runs in a third inning that featured doubles from Donovan Solano, Adeiny Hechavarria’s and Giancarlo Stanton.

8AM Sportscast 03-07-2014

Podcasts, Sports

March 7th, 2014 by Chris Parks

w/ Jim Field


Bill Northey to Speak at Cover Crop Meeting

Ag/Outdoor, News, Sports

March 7th, 2014 by Ric Hanson

The Cass County Soil and Water Conservation District will be hosting a Cover Crop meeting on Wednesday, March 12th at the Cass County Community Center. The meeting will start at 1:00 pm and run till 3:30pm. Doors will open at 12:30 to the public. Bill Northey, Iowa’s Secretary of Agriculture will speak during the meeting about Iowa’s Nutrient Reduction Strategy.SWCD

Matt Lechtenberg from the Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land stewardship, Division of Soil Conservation will also present information about the Iowa Water Quality Initiatives. There will also be a panel of local producers that will give their account of how they have incorporated cover crops to their own farm operations.

The Cass County Soil and Water Conservation District Commissioners are: Greg Zellmer, Fred Kay, Ray Wilson, Curt Behrends, and Chase Wheatley along with Assistant Commissioner Alan Peterson.

Thursday Girls State Basketball Scores/Friday Schedule


March 7th, 2014 by Ric Hanson

Class 1-A Semifinal

  • Burlington Notre Dame 65, Janesville 58

Class 2-A Semifinals

  • Hudson 45, Cascade 33
  • Western Christian 69, North Linn 52

 Class 3-A Semifinals

  • MOC-Floyd Valley 64, Mediapolis 51
  • Unity Christian 50, Crestwoodo 41

Class 4-A Semifinals

  • Western Dubuque 30, Ballard 23
  • Harlan 45, Carlisle 42

Friday Schedule

Class 5-A Semifinals

  • Noon – Waterloo West (22-2) vs. Southeast Polk (17-6)
  • 1:45 p.m. – Iowa City High (24-0) vs. Dowling Catholic (21-3)

Class 1-A Championship

  • 6:00 p.m. — Newell-Fonda (25-1) vs. Burlington Notre Dame (23-3)

Class 2-A Championship

  • 8:00 p.m. — Hudson (25-1) vs. Western Christian (26-1)

No. 22 Michigan State beats No. 24 Iowa 86-76


March 7th, 2014 by Ric Hanson

EAST LANSING, Mich. (AP) – Keith Appling scored in double figures for the first time in more than five weeks and No. 22 Michigan State looked healthier than it had in months in an 86-76 victory over No. 24 Iowa on Thursday night. Appling showed his old aggressiveness before hip and wrist injuries and scored 12 points for the Spartans (23-7, 12-5 Big Ten).  Travis Trice, Appling’s backup, was 3 for 4 from 3-point range and had 16 points, while Adreian Payne added 14 points in his final home game.

Denzel Valentine had 13 points and nine assists for Michigan State, which looked a lot like the team that is 19-2 with a healthy Branden Dawson in the lineup.  Roy Devyn Marble had 24 points for Iowa (20-10, 9-8).

Chiefs release linebacker James, tight end Jones


March 7th, 2014 by Ric Hanson

KANSAS CITY, Mo. (AP) – The Chiefs released linebacker Robert James and tight end Dominique Jones on Thursday as they prepare for the start of free agency next week. James was signed near the end of last season when James Michael-Johnson went on injured reserve. Jones spent time on the practice squad before making the 53-man roster at the tail end of the season, but he did not have a catch with the Chiefs.

The Chiefs were already in the market for a linebacker to provide depth, either through the draft or free agency. Jones was expendable with the anticipated return of tight end Travis Kelce, their third round pick last year who missed the season with a knee injury.

Cardinals-Twins rained out Thursday


March 7th, 2014 by Ric Hanson

FORT MYERS, Fla. (AP) – The exhibition game between the St. Louis Cardinals and Minnesota Twins scheduled for Thursday was rained out.   The game was called off before it started. Ricky Nolasco was set to start for the Twins. With rain in the forecast, he pitched a simulated game instead.

ISU Guard Bubu Palo mulling hardship waiver


March 7th, 2014 by Ric Hanson

AMES, Iowa (AP) — Iowa State senior guard Bubu Palo says he might petition the NCAA for a hardship waiver that would allow him to transfer to another school and play one more season. Palo missed much of 2013-14 after being dismissed from the team following sexual assault charges that were later dropped. Palo was reinstated by a district court judge in January, but he hasn’t played this season.

Palo says he and coach Fred Hoiberg have discussed the possibility of a waiver, adding that he might sit out Saturday’s home finale against Oklahoma State to aid those efforts. Palo redshirted as a freshman in 2009-10 and was suspended for 18 games in 2012-13. He will be honored in pre-game festivities for Iowa State’s seniors on Saturday.

Evansville defeats Drake 69-61 in MVC opener


March 7th, 2014 by Ric Hanson

ST. LOUIS (AP) — Egidijus Mockevicius tied a career-high with 19 points, had a career-best eight blocks and grabbed 10 rebounds as No. 9 seed Evansville defeated eighth-seeded Drake 69-61 in the opening round of the Missouri Valley tournament Thursday night. D.J. Balentine added 30 points for Evansville (14-18) which faces top-seeded Wichita State in the quarterfinals on Friday.

Jordan Daniels scored to give Drake a 21-19 lead with 8:10 to play in the first half. Evansville answered with a 14-0 run, including six points by Balentine, to take a 33-21 lead and the Purple Aces led the rest of the way. Daniels scored seven straight points and Daddy Ugbede made a layup to cap a 9-0 to pull Drake within six points, 58-52 with 8:49 remaining, but the Bulldogs did not get any closer. Richard Carter scored 26 points and Daniels finished with 11 to lead Drake (15-16).