Carleton named Top-5 Finalist for Cheryl Miller Award


March 13th, 2019 by Chris Parks

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – Iowa State women’s basketball senior guard Bridget Carleton was named a top-5 finalist for the Cheryl Miller Award, becoming the first Cyclone to be named a finalist for a position award. The Cheryl Miller Award recognizes the top small forward in women’s college basketball.

Carleton, who is on the heels of being named Big 12 Player of the Year, is leading the Big 12 with 21.4 points, 8.6 rebounds, 4.1 assists, 2.3 steals and 1.3 blocks per game. Carleton has the Cyclones ranked No. 13 in the AP poll, and averaged 20.0 or more points against every Big 12 opponent. Carleton is also named a top-15 finalist for the Wooden Award.

The Chatham, Ontario, Canada, native also ranks second in Iowa State history with 2,088 career points, while her 17.1 points per game scoring average sits in first in school history. Carleton also ranks third in blocked shots (122), third in steals (209), third in free-throw percentage (85.4) and fourth in free throws made (443).

This month, five finalists will be presented to Ms. Miller and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. The winner of the 2019 Cheryl Miller Small Forward of the Year Award will be determined by a combination of fan votes and input from the Basketball Hall of Fame’s selection committee. Fans are encouraged to visit to cast their votes March 15-29.

Carleton joins Missouri’s Sophie Cunningham, Maryland’s Kaila Charles, Notre Dame’s Jackie Young and Oregon’s Satou Sabally as the five finalists for the honor.