Iowa High School Golf Coaches Association Announces Spring Player/Coach of Year Winners


June 18th, 2014 by Jim Field

The Iowa High School Golf Coaches Association are announcing the winners of their Spring 2014 Player of the Year & Coach of the Year awards.

Player of the Year winners are:

5-A: Karli Kerrigan Ankeny Centennial
4-A: Maddie Bertsch CR Xavier
3-A: Paige Van Dyk South Tama
2-A: Sarah McMichael Nashua Plainfield
1-A: Carly Jacobs Belleuve Marquette

3-A: Clayton Larson West Delaware
2-A: Trevor Ullestad South Hamilton
1-A: Lane Bangasser Grundy Center

Coach of the Year winners are:

5-A: Marty Sullivan Waukee
4-A: Julie Kadlec CR Xavier
3-A: Kathy Hobson Atlantic
2-A: Dan Calhoun Pleasantville
1-A: Rick Schapbach Grundy Center

1-A: Tom Fetter West Delaware & Jan Lesan Creston
2-A: Mark Ullestad South Hamilton
1-A: Dennis Dirks Grundy Center

Atlantic Post-Season Honors:

All District (each coach can nominate up to 6 golfers they have competed against for this honor) – from the Iowa Girls’ Coaches Association

  • Brooke Fletcher, Erin Olsen, Brooke Newell

All-State (based on the final rankings of the Iowa High School Golf Coaches Assoc. – coaches have to be a member in order for golfers to be honored.

  • 1st team: Brooke Fletcher (#5)
  • 2nd team: Brooke Newell (#11), Erin Olsen (#15)

All Tournament (final individual standings at state meet)

  • 1st team, class 3-A: Erin Olsen, Brooke Fletcher

See the rest here:  2014 Golf All-District