Christofferson One of Four Cyclones to Earn Big 12 Conference Honors


March 6th, 2014 by Jim Field

AMES, Iowa – Iowa State senior Hallie Christofferson was named to the All-Big 12 First Team, while sophomore Nikki Moody was a Second-Team selection and Jadda Buckley and Seanna Johnson earned spots on the All-Freshman Team.

Christofferson, a forward from Hamlin, Iowa, was a first-team pick after averaging 18.5 points and 7.2 rebounds. In conference play, Christofferson averaged 16.5 points and was in the top-15 in the league in field goal percentage at 46.4 percent for the season. She was also second in the league with an 89.2 percent clip at the free-throw line.

Christofferson, who tallied seven double-double this season, was in double figures in 27 of 29 games, including 15 games with 20 or more points.

Moody, a junior guard from Euless, Texas, earned second-team honors for the first time in her career. She averaged 12.7 points, 4.5 rebounds and 5.4 assists per game this season. Moody tallied 20 points on three occasions and scored in double digits 17 times. She recorded five or more assists 18 times including two games with 10 or more assists.

Johnson and Buckley have enjoyed standout freshman campaigns earning eight of the 18 Big 12 Freshman of the Week awards between the two. Iowa State’s two nods on the All-Freshman team is the first time in the history of the award that a school has placed two on the team in the same year.

Buckley, a guard from Mason City, Iowa, is averaging 11.0 points per game, 3.2 assists per game and 2.2 rebounds per game. Buckley has grabbed three Freshman of the Week honors for the Cyclones and scored 20-plus points on two occasions. She has also scored in double-digits 16 times this season.

Johnson, a guard from Brooklyn Park, Minn., is averaging 10.6 points and 8.1 rebounds. She has earned five Freshman of the Week honors and scored in double-digits 16 times. Johnson has also recorded nine double-digit rebounding games.

2013-14 Phillips 66 All-Big 12 Awards

  • Coach of the Year: Mike Carey, West Virginia
  • Player of the Year: Odyssey Sims, Baylor **
  • Freshman of the Year: Nina Davis, Baylor
  • Defensive Player of the Year: Odyssey Sims, Baylor
  • Sixth Man Award: Taylor Palmer, West Virginia

All-Big 12 First Team (all honors listed alphabetical by school)

  • Nina Davis Baylor F 5-11 Fr Memphis, Tenn.
  • Odyssey Sims^~!** Baylor G 5-8 Sr Irving, Texas
  • Hallie Christofferson^ Iowa State F 6-3 Sr Hamlin, Iowa
  • Chelsea Gardner Kansas F 6-3 Jr DeSoto, Texas
  • Aaryn Ellenberg^~** Oklahoma G 5-7 Sr Las Vegas, Nev.
  • Tiffany Bias%+** Oklahoma State G 5-6 Sr Andover, Kan.
  • Zahna Medley TCU G 5-6 So Springfield, Ill.
  • Nneka Enemkpali Texas F 6-1 Jr Pflugerville, Texas
  • Asya Bussie West Virginia C 6-4 Sr Randallstown, Md.
  • Bria Holmes** West Virginia G 6-1 So New Haven, Conn.

All-Big 12 Second Team

  • Nikki Moody Iowa State G 5-8 Jr Euless, Texas
  • Leticia Romero Kansas State G 5-8 Fr Las Palmas, Spain
  • Morgan Hook Oklahoma G 5-10 Sr Lowell, Ark.
  • Imani McGee-Stafford Texas C 6-7 So Los Angeles, Calif.
  • Amber Battle Texas Tech G 5-9 Jr Albuquerque, N.M.

All-Big 12 Honorable Mention

Niya Johnson (Baylor), Makenzie Robertson (Baylor), Natalie Knight (Kansas), Sharane Campbell (Oklahoma), Nicole Griffin (Oklahoma), Liz Donohoe (Oklahoma State), Brittney Martin (Oklahoma State), Chassidy Fussell (Texas)

Big 12 All-Defensive Team

  • Odyssey Sims Baylor G 5-8 Sr Irving, Texas
  • Tiffany Bias Oklahoma State G 5-6 Sr Andover, Kan.
  • Latricia Lovings TCU C 6-3 Sr Fort Worth, Texas
  • Asya Bussie West Virginia C 6-4 Sr Randallstown, Md.
  • Jess Harlee West Virginia F 6-1 Sr Bel Air, Md.

Big 12 All-Freshman Team

  • Nina Davis** Baylor F 5-11 Memphis, Tenn.
  • Jadda Buckley** Iowa State G 5-8 Mason City, Iowa
  • Seanna Johnson Iowa State G 5-10 Brooklyn Park, Minn.
  • Leticia Romero** Kansas State G 5-8 Las Palmas, Spain
  • Roshunda Johnson Oklahoma State G 5-7 Little Rock, Ark.

** Unanimous First Team Selection (coaches cannot vote for own players, unanimous denotes voted first team by other nine coaches)

^ 2012-13 All-Big 12 First Team Selection

% 2012-13 All-Big 12 Second Team Selection

~ 2011-12 All-Big 12 First Team Selection

+ 2011-12 All Big 12 Second Team Selection

! 2010-11 All-Big 12 First Team Selection