Atlantic’s Steve Blazek Among IHSAA Basketball, Wrestling Hall-of Fame Honorees


October 1st, 2013 by Jim Field

Hall of Fame members for Wrestling and Boys’ Basketball have been chosen by the Iowa High School Athletic Association, recently. The honored athletes and coaches will be presented during the State Tournaments of their respective sport.

Wrestling hall of fame honorees to be inducted February 22 are Coach – John Siegel, Morning Sun; Wrestlers Joe Corso, Valley, West Des Moines (1971); Pete Bush, Assumption Davenport (1979); Jeff Coltvet, Eagle Grove (1984), and Jeff Harrison, Westwood, Sloan (2000).

Those being honored in basketball, March 15 include Coaches: Bob Haak of Spencer and Steve Blazek of Atlantic, plus Players: Lloyd Thornburg, Pleasantville (1968); Mark West, Southeast Polk (1977); Jeff Donaldson, Sioux City, North (1983); Robbie Sieverding, Marquette Catholic, Bellevue (1997); and Jeff Horner, Mason City (2002).