FSA County Committee Nominations Begin June 17th

Ag/Outdoor, News

June 5th, 2013 by Ric Hanson

Iowa Farm Service Agency State Executive Director, John R. Whitaker today (Wednesday)announced that the nomination period for this year’s County Committee election will begin on June 17th, 2013.  The nomination period continues through August 1, 2013, with elections taking place this fall. 

“The committee election process allows all producers to have a better chance of having their opinions and ideas expressed in the community in Iowa and the nation.  FSA sees the role of our county committees as one that is vital,” said Whitaker.  “County Committees operate under official regulations for federal farm programs. Committee members apply their judgment, experience, and knowledge when making local decisions.”  

Individuals that serve on local FSA County Committee make decisions regarding producer’s appeals; commodity price support loans and payments; conservation programs; employing county executive directors; incentive, indemnity, and disaster payments for commodities; as well as for other farm disaster assistance.  Members serve three-year terms. Nationally, there are more than 7,800 farmers and ranchers serving on FSA county committees. Committees consist of three to five members who are elected by eligible local producers. 

“FSA’s want to ensure that we have a diverse committee, not only in the physical make up of the committee, but making sure we have representative from all forms of agriculture,” added Whitaker.  The USDA says it is committed to increasing the participation of all farmers on the FSA County Committees, with an emphasis on women and minority farmers.  Beginning farmers are also highly encouraged to become involved.  

To be eligible to serve on an FSA county committee, a person must:  

  • Be of legal voting age and eligible to vote in a county committee election
  • Live in the LAA holding an election
  • Participate or cooperate in a program administered by FSA