Atlantic Chamber seeks ATHENA Award nominees


November 27th, 2012 by Ric Hanson

The Atlantic Area Chamber of Commerce says nominations for the annual ATHENA Award are currently being accepted through December 5th by the Chamber, and Deter Motor Company.

Athena Award

Chamber of Commerce Executive Director Megan Roberts said “The ATHENA award is one of the most prestigious awards given at the Chamber Annual Dinner. The strongest of our female business leaders are recognized” at the event.

Atlantic is the only community in Iowa that sponsors the award thanks to more than 10 years of partnership with Deter Motor Co. of Atlantic. Past recipients include LaVon Eblen, Judy Marnin, Leanne Pellett, Denise O’Brien, Margaret Slepsky, Glenda Farrier, Carole Schuler, Jan Kinnison, Janell Hansen, Ann Pross and Wendy Richter.

Roberts says “The sculpture given to the recipient is a custom design, unique to all other Chamber awards, and the application process requires a thorough history of the nominee’s leadership in business.” Nominations can be submitted by contacting the Atlantic Area Chamber for the nomination form by phone 712.243.3017 or email at