Nominations Certified for Cass County Offices


August 31st, 2012 by Ric Hanson

Cass County Auditor Dale Sunderman, Thursday, released the names of persons who have submitted their nominations for various County offices, in advance of the November 6th General Election. There are no contested races for any of the top offices, including the Board of Supervisors, Auditor and Sheriff. All of those running for re-election to those offices are Republicans, including: Duane McFadden, Charles Rieken, and Frank Waters, for the Board of Supervisors; Auditor Dale Sunderman, and Sheriff Darby McLaren.

Candidates for non-partisan offices include:

For Cass County Memorial Hospital Board of Trustees/Northwest District -Roger Herring, and Michael J. Collins, both from Atlantic. (6-year term, 1 to be elected); Northeast District – Julie Pollock (6-year term/1 to be elected).

Soil and Water Conservation District  (3 to be elected. 2 cannot be from the same township) – Chase Wheatley, of Massena; Curt Behrends, of Wiota; Clarke Gerlock, of Cumberland; and Norbert Ray Wilson, of Griswold.

Ag Extension Council (4 to be elected) – Marcy Jo Dorsey, of Anita; Darrin Petty, of Atlantic; Julie Aupperle, of Wiota; and Malena Sothman, of Cumberland.

Township Trustees:

Benton Township (4-year term/1 to be elected) – Vicky Sanny, of Atlantic.

Benton Township (to fill remainder of a 4-year term) – Chris Stork, of Atlantic.

Edna Township (1 for a 4-year term) – Keith Nelson, of Massena

Edna Township (to fill remainder of a 4-year term) – Travis Erickson, of Cumberland.

Union Township ( 1 for a 4-year term) – Delmar South, of Cumberland.

Victoria Township (1 for a 4-year term) – Carole McMullen, of Massena.

Township Clerk:

Benton Township (vacancy, 1 for remainder of a 4-year term) – Linda L. Olsen, of Brayton.

Edna Township (vacancy, 1 for remainder of a 4-year term) – Dan Schrier, of Cumberland.

Union Township (vacancy, 1 for remainder of 4-year term) – Bill Gerlock, or Cheryl R. Christiansen, both of Cumberland.

In addition, Public Measures will be on the ballot for those persons residing in the Benton, Edna, Union and Victoria Townships in Cass County, asking them if the Board of Supervisors should “…Fill the offices of Trustees and Clerk in those respective townships by appointment, as the terms of office of the incumbent township officers expire?”