Western Iowa Legislative Race – Primary Results Summary


June 6th, 2012 by Ric Hanson

In the race for a seat on the Iowa Legislature here in western Iowa, there was at least one close contest. Republican candidate Mark Segebart, a farmer from Vail and member of the Crawford County Board of Supervisor, edged out his GOP challengers Matthew Biede and Carroll Mayor Adam Schweers, and moves on to face Democrat Mary C. Bruner, in November to determine the winner of the seat for the Senate, in District 6. Segebart garnered 1, 251 votes in the Primary election (46.665), while Schweers had 1,077 votes (40.17%), and Biede had only 350 votes.

In Senate District 10, Republican Jake Chapman beat challenger Matthew T. Mardesen by more than 850 votes. There is currently no Democrat slated to run against him in November.

And, in the race for State Representative in the newly formed 22nd District, Greg Forristall defeated his GOP challenger Clint Fichter, by more than 900 votes (2,526 to 1,611).