Farm Bureau awards $180,000 to current and future college students


April 24th, 2012 by Ric Hanson

The Iowa Farm Bureau Federation (IFBF) has awarded $1,000 scholarships for tuition to 180 students who plan to study agriculture at their chosen colleges and universities. Six recipients were selected from each of the nine IFBF districts.  Scholarships were awarded to children of Farm Bureau members who plan to or currently attend an accredited college, university or community college to earn two or four-year degrees. 

First-time Farm Bureau scholarship recipients include 54 graduating high school seniors or students currently enrolled in their chosen college or university.  Students are eligible to renew the scholarships for up to four years by maintaining a minimum grade point average of 2.5 and by being a student in good standing with the college or university. 

Among the 1st time recipients was:

(listed by hometown/name/parents/future or current college choice)

Audubon, Stacey Bruch, Brian and Nancy Bruch, Des Moines Area Community College

Corning, Haley Holbrook, Jerry and Tracy Holbrook, Iowa State University

Greenfield, Rob Mensing, Bruce and Di Mensing, Iowa State University

Griswold, Abigail Leighton, Scott and Angela Leighton, Iowa State University

Harlan, Nathan Ohms, Neil and Melanie Ohms, Iowa State University

Henderson, Samantha Keast, Russell and Diane Keast, Iowa State University

First-time applicants were asked to write an essay indicating the contributions they expect to make to agriculture and the rural community.  They also were selected based on their academic achievement, financial need, community and extracurricular involvement and letters of recommendation.