Drake Relays Announces Hall of Fame Class


April 11th, 2012 by Ric Hanson

DES MOINES, Iowa (AP) ā€” The Drake Relays has selected four members for this year’s Hall of Fame class. Meet officials say Joey Haines, Victor Thomas, Tommy Asinga and former Iowa State star Edith Nakiyingi will be inducted on April 26. Haines is the former head track and field coach at Southeast Missouri State, where his teams won 11 Drake Relays event titles in the 1980s. Thomas, who coaches at Lincoln University in Missouri, has had 39 athletes win meet titles since 1996. Asinga was a five-time All-American at Eastern Michigan and competed in the 1988, ’92 and ’96 Summer Olympics for Suriname. Nakiyingi won the university/college division 800 meters in 1989 and 1991 and the women’s invitational 800 in 1990.