Adams County Farmer wind $2,500 for 4-H

Ag/Outdoor, News

March 20th, 2012 by Ric Hanson

Officials with the Monsanto Corporation say an Adams County farmer was selected as a Iowa winner in the company’s 2012 “America’s Farmers Grow Communities” contest. Todd James, of Prescott, won $2,500, and designated Adams County 4-H as the recipient of the funds. Other area winners, and their designated non-profits receiving $2,500 include: Cass County: Mike Noll – Griswold Fire Department; Adair County: Diana Kordick – Washington Stars 4-H Club; Audubon County: Blaine Kerkhoff – Audubon High School Wrestling Fund; Guthrie County: Randy Hughes – Dodge Dodgers 4-H Club; Montgomery County: Jon Young – Montgomery County Family YMCA; Pottawattamie County: Patrick Ellsworth – Underwood School District High School Auditorium Project; and Shelby County: Karen Muell – Panama Fire Department.

Nearly 60,000 farmers participated in the second annual Grow Communities program, which is designed to benefit nonprofit groups such as ag youth, schools and other civic organizations. Farmers in 1,245 counties in 39 states were eligible to win $2,500 for their favorite community nonprofit groups or organizations.  The Monsanto Fund expects to invest more than $3.1 million in local communities. For more information and to see a full list of winners, visit