Residents in 5 W. IA Counties are Eligible to Apply for Disaster Unemployment Insurance Benefits


October 27th, 2011 by Ric Hanson

An official with Iowa Workforce Development says Iowans living or working in Fremont, Harrison, Mills, Monona and Pottawattamie counties, which were recently declared disaster areas, may be eligible for unemployment insurance benefits under the federal Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA) program. The federal government declared the five counties as a weather-related disaster area eligible for individual assistance, in October for flooding.

Teresa Wahlert, director of Iowa Workforce Development, says residents who live or work in the five counties and have lost their job due to the summer flooding, should apply for the federal benefits. She says claims need to be filed no later November 28th.

The benefits cover self-employed workers not usually entitled to unemployment insurance, including Iowa farmers. People applying for DUA need to provide proof of past earnings, such as business records or bank statements and their most recent income tax form, at the time they file their claim. Any IowaWORKS Center can accept DUA claims, including the office in Council Bluffs, located at 300 West Broadway Street, Suite 13. Hours of operation are from 8-a.m. to 4:30-p.m., Monday through Thursday, and from 9-a.m. to 4:30-p.m. on Friday. The number to call is 712-242-2100.

In addition, individuals can file a regular unemployment claim online at and include “DUA Claim” in the notes section. Wahlert says IowaWORKS Centers also offer reemployment services, including testing, counseling and placement. Job search and career information also is available through Iowa Workforce Development’s Web site at