FEMA grants flood aid to 5 Iowa counties


October 18th, 2011 by Ric Hanson

DES MOINES, Iowa (AP) — Gov. Terry Branstad says the Federal Emergency Management Agency has reconsidered its decision and has granted Iowa’s request for flood aid for five of six counties along the Missouri River. Branstad received word from FEMA on Tuesday that the Federal Individual Assistance Program would be made available for Fremont, Harrison, Mills, Monona and Pottawattamie counties. FEMA did not approve the request for Woodbury County. The program helps homeowners, renters and businesses by providing grants and loans. Branstad spokesman Tim Albrecht says FEMA didn’t give a reason for not including Woodbury County. But he says the county did not have the level of damage that the other five counties sustained from a summer of flooding.