School Board election filing deadline has passed – vote Sept. 13th


August 8th, 2011 by Ric Hanson

The deadline to file the various school board positions in Cass County has passed. The vote will be held September 13th.

In the Atlantic Community School District, there are three incumbents running for the three District At Large positions: Dennis Davis, Phillip Hascall and Jon Martens. Rodney Hartwig is also running for one of those three positions. And, Josh E. McLaren is running to fill a vacancy position on the Atlantic School Board, in an At Large position.

Voters in the Atlantic Community School District will also decide whether or not to renew a Physical Plant and Equipment Levy (PPEL – say “Peppel’). The 10-year levy will be used to pay for various school repairs, improvements and/or equipment. It cannot be used to pay the interest on bonds. Approval of the levy in September would mean the District could levy up to 85-cents per thousand dollars of assessed valuation for taxable property with the school district, beginning June 30, 2013.

In the newly reorganized CAM School District, there are two board positions open: In the North District, Julie Williamson is unopposed for the seat. And, in the South District, incumbent Todd McKee is also running unopposed.

Voters in the Griswold Community School District have four positions to fill on the school board. In District 2, Scott Peterson is in the running for the one open slot, and incumbent Scott A. Hansen is unopposed for the District 4 Board seat. Douglas Lembke and incumbent Clarion Campbell are running for the District 6 and 7 seats, respectively. Neither candidate is opposed. The Griswold School District will also have on the ballot in September, a Public Measure authorizing the district to adopt a Revenue Purpose Statement, which specifies how sales, services and use tax funds received from the State of Iowa, shall be used.

If approved, the RPS will remain in effect until replaced or amended by the Griswold School District.